Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Croatia announces 26-man squad for 2022 Qatar World Cup

Published at :November 9, 2022 at 10:16 PM
Modified at :November 9, 2022 at 10:17 PM
Post Featured Image

Manav Chowdhury

The 2018 finalists will be looking to have another strong campaign this time around

Croatia's run to the World Cup final in 2018 set a new standard for them as an independent nation. After reaching France's semifinals in 1998. Captained by Real Madrid star Luka Modric, Croatia will boast one of the most experienced squads at the World Cup, and Dalic will be relying on that crucial know-how to drive their momentum again.

Croatia start their challenge in Qatar by facing Morocco on November 23. But first, they'll play one final friendly fixture against fellow World Cup hopefuls Saudi Arabia, on November 16. Croatia's main weapon in Qatar will be their incredible level of experience on both the domestic and international scene, with Luka Modric and Ivan Perisic both boasting over 100 caps. The old faces are still the star names within the Croatia squad with Modric remaining the key man for the club and country in midfield.

Croatia looks favourite alongside Belgium to storm past Group F. However, both Morocco and Canada games could be tricky, and Modric and co need to be at their best from the beginning to gain momentum.

Croatia's official 26 -man squad or the 2022 World Cup

Goalkeepers: Dominik Livakovic (Dinamo Zagreb), Ivica Ivusic (Osijek), Ivo Grbic (Atletico Madrid).

Defenders: Borna Barisic(Rangers), Domagoj Vida(AEK Athens), Dejan Lovren(Zenit), Josip Juranovic(Celtic), Josko Gvardiol(RB Liepzig), Borna Sosa(VfB Sttutgart), Josip Stanisic(Bayern Munich), Martin Erlic(Sassulo), Josip Sutalo(Dinamo Zagreb).

Midfielders: Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Mateo Kovacic (Chelsea), Marcelo Brozovic (Inter Milan), Mario Pasalic (Atalanta), Nikola Vlasic (Torino), Lovro Majer (Rennes), Kristijan Jakic (Eintracht Frankfurt), Luka Sucic (RB Salzburg).

Forwards: Ivan Perisic (Tottenham Hotspur), Andrej Kramaric (Hoffenhiem), Bruno Petkovic (Dinamo Zagreb), Ante Budimir (Osasuna), Marko Livaja (Hadjuk split).