The Argentine has set another unique record but this time

When Poland‘s Wojciech Szczesny saved Lionel Messi’s penalty in Argentina‘s World Cup group stage game, many saw it as a vindication of sorts after the controversial penalty had been awarded to the South American team. Messi is now the first player in World Cup history to have two penalty kicks saved against him.

Fans were confused when Argentina got a controversial penalty in their World Cup match against Poland. However, Poland’s goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny saved Lionel Messi’s penalty kick, which some saw as instant justice.

When Szczesny touched Messi while trying to get a cross, players from Argentina asked for a review. Referee Danny Makkelie pointed to the spot after being called over to the VAR monitor, but Messi couldn’t take advantage because Szcezny dove the right way to push his shot away.

“It feels like justice was done to me,” said co-commentator Danny Murphy on BBC One. He described it as “soft,” while Rio Ferdinand in the studio described it as “an outrageous decision”.

Last World Cup

Argentina’s penalty kick was the second to be given out at the 2022 World Cup. Messi scored a penalty kick goal in the first game vs Saudi Arabia, but he missed a similar opportunity in the second game against Poland.

The 2021 winner of the Ballon d’Or had a hand in two of his nation’s three goals prior to their match with Poland. He scored the first goal in a must-win match against Mexico, and Enzo Fernandez scored the insurance goal to defeat Tata Martino’s squad.

Overall the Argentine has scored 8 goals in the World Cup and will be looking to add more ti his tally, in what looks and feels like Messi’s last World Cup.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.