Despite never winning it, the Selecaos have had a significant impact on the competition.

Although Portugal’s first qualification for a major tournament came at the 1928 Olympics, they have since been acknowledged as a tough opponent, with athletes like Eusebio representing the country and setting records. Thirty-eight years later, in 1966, they qualified for their first World Cup, finishing third. And by 1990, they had built a competitive group named the “golden generation,” and they have since appeared in every major event until World Cup 2022.

However, Portugal have come close to clinching international titles many times, with players like Luis Figo, Rui Costa, Ricardo Carvalho, and Cristiano Ronaldo being the leaders who helped them reach the 2006 World Cup semi-finals. Although only in 1966 and 2006 did Portugal have advanced further in the competition.

And with the current group and schedule in World Cup 2022, Portugal are one of the favourites among other great nations, and with one of the best players, Cristiano Ronaldo, on their side. Portugal will be focused on winning their first-ever World Cup.

Fernando Santos has chosen his deserving 26-year-old, who he believes will win the coveted trophy.

Fernando Santos has assembled a great squad for the World Cup, with Renato Sanches the only notable exclusion. The previous year, his stellar showing at Euro 2020, led to Santos favouring him ahead of Bruno Fernandes in the starting lineup. But this time, he couldn’t make it to the squad for World Cup 2022 due to his slow start this campaign, while the rest have been called upon their merit.

Who will score more goals in FIFA World Cup 2022?
Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 17529 ( 40.76 % )
Lionel Messi
  • 25475 ( 59.24 % )
VS VS

How did Portugal Qualify for World Cup?

 Fernando Santos’ men were drawn into an easy group for the qualification matches and they should have progressed for the World Cup following the group games, but a lack of spirit in the matches saw them tumble into playoff matches.

And they would have failed in the playoff games if Portugal had faced Italy, who were eliminated for the second time in their history. Portugal had to win both of their playoff games against Turkey and North Macedonia, which they accomplished.

Portugal is placed in Group H. 

The Euro 2016 winners are in a favourable group with Uruguay, another potential contender, and Ghana and South Korea won’t pose many challenges. A Selecao can comfortably go to the knockout stage if they meet their obligations and prove their quality.

Portugal have a strong roster and depth, and they have the potential to reach the final if they stick together and establish great chemistry on the field.

Portugal World Cup Schedule:

November 24, 2022, Thursday 

Portugal vs Ghana |Group H| 9:30 pm IST, 5 pm CET, 4 pm GMT, 11 am EST 

November 29, 2022, Tuesday 

Portugal vs Uruguay |Group H| 12:30 am IST, 8 pm CET, 7 pm GMT, 2 pm EST. 

December 2, 2022, Friday 

Portugal vs South Korea |Group H| 8:30 IST, 4 pm CET, 3 pm GMT, 10 am EST

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.