Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Lionel Messi's Argentina win FIFA World Cup 2022

Published at :December 19, 2022 at 5:24 AM
Modified at :December 19, 2022 at 5:25 AM
Post Featured Image


Albiceleste claims the title in a see-saw final.

The winner of the FIFA World Cup final in 2022 will reportedly receive a stunning $42 million in prize money, while the runner-up would receive $30 million. With Argentina's victory over France on Sunday, December 18, the last round of the FIFA World Cup 2022 is over and celebrations have begun for the number one team. As the defending champions France and Lionel Messi's Argentina both attempted to become the third-time winners of the World Cup, football fans braced themselves for a fierce matchup.

World Champions

In 1978 and 1986, Argentina took home the medal, and in 1998 and 2018, France came out on top. Due to the significance of this accomplishment for Lionel Messi, the greatest player of all time, Argentina will be printing the third star on their jerseys.All the critics that came after the 2014 final, the haters became lovers, that's the magic of this beautiful game.

After a strong start in which Di Maria won the penalty and Lionel Messi scored it in the 23rd minute, the Argentine crowd went wild all over the goal. Thanks to a strong defensive effort and a strong performance from the Argentine midfield, Argentina scored a second goal just before halftime, with a beautiful finish from Di Maria himself.

Substitutes for France made a huge difference in the second half, and Kylian Mbappe was the game-changing secret weapon, scoring a penalty to pull France even with Argentina in the 80th minute, tying Lionel Messi for the tournament lead in goals with six, and then tying the game with a beautiful volley a minute later to become the tournament's top scorer.

Prize money

Reports indicate that the winner of the FIFA World Cup 2022 final will receive $42 million, with the runner-up receiving $30 million. Accordingly, the $72 million prize pool will be greatly appreciated by the winners. While the third-place squad receives $27 million and the fourth-place team receives $25 million, respectively.

Each of the four teams who made it to the quarterfinals—Brazil, the Netherlands, Portugal, and England—will receive $17 million. The United States, Senegal, Australia, Poland, Spain, Japan, Switzerland, and South Korea will each receive $13 million for making it to the round of 16. Also receiving $9 million for making it out of the group stages are Qatar, Ecuador, Wales, Iran, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Denmark, Tunisia, Canada, Belgium, Germany, Costa Rica, Serbia, Cameroon, Ghana, and Uruguay.

However, Argentina captain Lionel Messi has indicated that he would end his international career following the championship game. Messi hopes to add a World Cup championship to his already stellar resume. But Mbappe, who already has one World Cup trophy to his name (2018), is gunning for a second.