The 2026 edition of the tournament will also involve 48 teams instead of the traditional 32 teams.

Four years after the FIFA World Cup 2022 ends in Qatar, the next edition of the tournament will take place in North America. Three North American countries — Canada, Mexico and United States will host the 2026 FIFA World Cup. The World Cup will kick-off on June 8 and will continue until July 3, 2026.

A total of sixteen cities across the three nations will host the mega football tournament. With a majority vote at FIFA’s congress, a joint bid by the three countries beat Morocco in 2018 to win the hosting rights for the tournament. The three nations have collectively dubbed their bid “United 2026.”

Plenty of chances but no finished product

This will be the second time the United States will host the FIFA World Cup. The tournament was last held in the country in 1994. However, Mexico will be hosting the men’s tournament for the third time, having previously done so in 1970 and 1986. For the first time, an event of this stature will be held in Canada.

This is a historic event since it marks the first time the World Cup will take place in three different countries. The 2002 FIFA World Cup edition was co-hosted by South Korea and Japan. This will also be the first World Cup that will be played with 48 teams, up from the usual 32 nations.

Of the sixteen cities announced by FIFA as hosts cities, eleven are in the United States, three are in Mexico, and two are in Canada. In any case, tickets for the 2026 FIFA World Cup are not currently available. Tickets will go on sale in 2025, as stated in the United 2026 World Cup bid book.

The enlarged format of the 2026 World Cup will have 48 teams instead of 32 teams. Teams are likely to be divided into 16 groups of three teams each. Recent reports have, however, suggested that FIFA s likely to go ahead with 12 groups of four teams each.

[Total_Soft_Poll id=”5″]

2026 FIFA World Cup host cities

USA (11)

Atlanta – Mercedes-Benz Stadium

Boston – Gillette Stadium

Dallas – AT&T Stadium

Houston – NRG Stadium

Kansas City – Arrowhead Stadium

Los Angeles – SoFi Stadium

Miami – Hard Rock Stadium

New York/New Jersey – MetLife Stadium

Philadelphia – Lincoln Financial Field

San Francisco – Levi’s Stadium

Seattle – Lumen Field

Canada (2)

Toronto – BMO Field

Vancouver – BC Place

Mexico (3)

Guadalajara – Estadio Akron

Mexico City – Estadio Azteca

Monterrey – Estadio BBVA

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.