FIFA announced a total prize pool of USD 440 million for the Qatar tournament

The FIFA World Cup 2022 is in its penultimate round with the first semi-final scheduled for 14th December at 12:30 AM (IST). With just four teams left in this global spectacle, one thing is for sure, this will go down as one of the most exciting World Cups ever. 

Over the past three weeks, we have been treated with some high-quality footballing action. The world has witnessed some of the biggest underdog stories so far and there might be a few more in store for us. 

Morocco’s route to the semi-final is a story that the world won’t forget for ages to come. The Morocco national team became the first African nation to reach the semi-final after they crushed Ronaldo’s dream of lifting the trophy. The African nation will go up against Mbappe’s France who are on course to defend their world title.

Ronaldo, Neymar & Suarez are a few big-name players who have left Qatar empty-handed. But, Lionel Messi’s dream of winning the biggest footballing event is still intact as Argentina find themselves in the semis. It won’t be easy as they will have a tough time against Luka Modric’s Croatia

The hype around who will lift the FIFA World Cup 2022 trophy on the 18th of December is unreal. 

But, what is the prize money for winning the FIFA World Cup 2022?

Ever since Qatar won the right to host the FIFA World Cup, they have spent billions preparing for it. The 2022 World Cup is the most expensive FIFA event in history. The Arab country has spent over USD 200 billion on the event. It leaves us wondering what is the prize money for winning it.

The world football governing body FIFA announced a total prize pool of USD 440 million earlier in the year. All four semifinalists (Croatia, France, Argentina & Morocco) are guaranteed to receive USD 25 million each. The winners of this year’s FIFA World Cup will receive a whopping USD 42 million. While the team that finishes second will receive USD 30 million.

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 (Prize Pool)

Winners – $42 million / INR 347 crore
Runners-up – $30 million / INR 248 crore
Third Place – $27 million / INR 223 crore
Fourth Place – $25 million / INR 206 crore

Last time around the prize money for the winner of this lucrative tournament was $38 million. This time the winner will take home an additional  $4 million. Apart from the top four, the teams that went out of the World Cup in the quarter-finals will receive $17 million (INR 140 crore). The teams that booked a place in the round of 16 but couldn’t go further will receive $13 million each (INR 107 crore). $9 million each (74 crore) for teams who couldn’t go past the group stage of the FIFA World Cup 2022.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.