The right-back previously won the Kerala Premier League in 2019-20 with Kerala Blasters.

Former Kerala Blasters reserves captain Shahajas Thekkan has mutually terminated his contract with Gokulam Kerala FC, Khel Now can confirm. The 24-year-old right-back experienced a lack of game-time under former head coach Richard Towa which led to this move.

“The talented wing-back is currently a free agent and is looking for opportunities across ISL and I-League clubs,” a source close to the development informed Khel Now.

About the player

Shahajas Thekkan joined Kerala Blasters reserves in the 2017-18 season, and then moved on to Bengaluru-based club Ozone FC on a free transfer. He returned to the Kerala Blasters setup for the 2021-22 season, before making the switch to Gokulam Kerala FC.

Shahajas made 5 appearances last season, and was part of Gokulam Kerala’s I-League winning last season. However, this season he is yet to play a minute of competitive football in 11 matches. That is mainly because Abdul Hakku has been the first-choice right-back for the Malabarians.

During his stint with the Blasters, Shahajas won the Kerala Premier League in 2019-20 and also captained the side.

Gokulam Kerala’s season so far

After playing 11 matches, Gokulam are fifth with five wins, three draws and three losses. They are on 18 points, just one behind third placed TRAU, and tied with Real Kashmir in fourth. Most recently, Gokulam lost 1-2 to TRAU at home, denting their title charge. With the I-League winners slated to be promoted to the Indian Super League, there is a lot at stake with every passing fixture.

While the victorious Italian Vincenzo Alberto Annese, who led the club’s title charge, is now reviving NorthEast United, Spaniard Francesc Bonet has taken over the reigns at Gokulam. Shijin Thadhayouse leads the goal-scoring charts for the Malabarians this season, with seven goals to his name. In addition to that, goalkeeper Shibinraj Kunniyil has the most clean sheets in the league so far with six.

Since entering the I-League in 2017, Gokulam Kerala emerged on top of a three-horse race on the final matchday of the covid-interrupted season to win the trophy courtesy of their superior goal difference. They became the first club from Kerala to win the I-League and the third two win it on consecutive occasions.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube and join our community on Telegram.