These shortstoppers have made a name for the serves in the English top flight

The Premier League Golden Glove is a relatively new award handed out for the first time in 2005. The criteria for the award are pretty simple. It is given to the goalkeeper who keeps the cleanest sheets in a Premier League season. If more than one goalkeeper records the highest number of clean sheets, the award is shared. Many top goalkeepers have won the Premier League Golden Glove award in the last few years, with some of them clinching the award more than once. On that note, here’s a look at the five most outstanding Premier League Golden Glove winners of the last decade:

5. Alisson Becker – 2

Alisson is currently one of the best Goalkeepers in the world, he is performing extremely well for Liverpool FC and his National team and is arguably one of the best goalkeepers in Liverpool FC. He has improved massively under Jurgen Klopp. Also, he is known for his brilliant passing ability and calmness under pressure. Alisson has built a reputation for putting in his best performance in the toughest moments of games. He won the award in 2018-19 and as well as in the 2021-22 season along with Ederson. The Brazilian joined Liverpool in 2018 and immediately made a huge impact on the Reds. He played a curial role in Liverpool winning the premier league after a long time.

4. Pepe Reina – 3

Reina was signed by Liverpool from Villarreal in July 2005, with manager Rafael Benitez hailing him as “the best goalkeeper in Spain”.  It was also a huge success personally for Reina as he made Liverpool Records.

Liverpool finished in 3rd place in 2005-06, eight points behind Chelsea, but it was Reina and Liverpool who kept the cleanest sheets. In the 2006-07 season, Liverpool finished again in 3rd place. But it was Pepe Reina who kept the cleanest sheets in the Premier League season. 2007-08, another fantastic year and another spectacular performance from Spanish international. He won his 3rd Golden Glove Award for the Reds.

3. Ederson – 3

Top ten goalkeepers of the 2021-22 season
The Brazilian has won 3 Premier League golden gloves

Ederson is arguably the best goalkeeper in the premier league. The Brazilian was immediately inserted as Pep Guardiola‘s first-choice goalkeeper, supplanting Claudio Bravo. Ederson is widely known for his outstanding shot-stopping ability. Also, he is quick to rush off his line and fits the mould of a sweeper-keeper well. The Brazilian has won several trophies with the club so far, including three Premier League titles, four League Cups, and one FA Cup. He won his first Golden Glove award in the 2019-20 season and from then he has won this again in the 2020-21 and 2021-22 seasons as well.

2. Joe Hart – 4

Manchester City legend Joe Hart is considered to be one of the best goalkeepers in the premier league and in English football history. Alongside Petr Cech, Joe Hart is the only goalkeeper to have won the Golden Glove award four times, with three of them coming in the last decade. The England international won his first Golden Glove in 2010-11, helping City qualify for the Champions League for the first time in the Premier League era. He followed up by winning two consecutive awards in 2011-12,2012-13 and in the 2014-2015 season also he won this award. Joe Hart’s performances in the latter part of the decade with England and then with West Ham and Burnley have drastically caused his reputation to slip. But in his prime, Joe Hart was a great goalkeeper.

1. Petr Cech – 4

Petr Cech Chelsea Arsenal
Petr Cech won 13 major trophies with Chelsea

Cech arrived at Chelsea in 2004 and spent 11 seasons as the Blues’ first-choice goalkeeper. During his time at Stamford Bridge, he won 13 major trophies, including four Premier League titles and a Champions League. Described by numerous players, pundits and managers as one of the greatest goalkeepers in history, he is argued, alongside Peter Schmeichel, to be the greatest goalkeeper in Premier League history. He won his three golden gloves award in 2004-05, 2009-10. 2013-14 with Chelsea and again won the prestigious award in the 2015-16 season when he was playing for Arsenal.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.