Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

World Football

Sudamericano U-17 2023: Everything you need to know

Published at :April 1, 2023 at 7:23 AM
Modified at :April 1, 2023 at 7:23 AM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

This will be the 19th edition of the competition

The 19th South American U-17 Championship, also known as CONMEBOL Sudamericano Sub-17, is set to be underway. It is an international youth football tournament held every two years for the men's under-17 national sides of South America and is organised by CONMEBOL. It takes place in Ecuador from March 30 to April 23, 2023.

After being postponed for four years by CONMEBOL because to the COVID-19 epidemic in 2021, the South American U-17 Championship is back.


The competition is open to all 10 national teams that make up CONMEBOL.

  •  Argentina
  •  Bolivia
  •  Brazil
  •  Chile
  •  Colombia
  •  Ecuador (hosts)
  •  Paraguay
  •  Peru
  •  Uruguay
  •  Venezuela


The South American U-17 Championship was initially scheduled to take place in Ecuador in 2021. The COVID-19 epidemic forced the cancellation of the competition, although Ecuador was still given the go-ahead to host the South American U-17 Championship in 2023. Ecuador will host the event for the fourth time, having done so in 1988 (under-16 edition), 2007, and 2011.

As host cities, Guayaquil and Quito were chosen. The Estadio George Capwell and the Estadio Christian Bentez Betancourt will both serve as the sites for the first stage's matches in Guayaquil. The Stadium Rodrigo Paz Delgado and the Estadio Olmpico Atahualpa will both host games during the final stage in Quito.

Match officials

A UEFA refereeing squad was among the 11 referees and 22 assistant referees named for the competition by CONMEBOL on February 23, 2023. A UEFA refereeing squad will take part in the South American U-17 Championship for the first time as a result of the agreement between UEFA and CONMEBOL, which was reached in February 2020 and includes a referee exchange programme.


Group A: Ecuador, Chile, Uruguay, Brazil, Colombia

Group B: Argentina, Paraguay,  Peru, Venezuela, Bolivia

Live telecast

The tournament will not be shown anywhere in India, although the fans can always watch the match highlights later.