Top five players with most LaLiga Player of the Year award

Jimit Bhavsar

May 21 2023
Lionel Messi FC Barcelona

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are both on the list

LaLiga is the top-flight league of Spanish football and is one of the top five leagues in the world of football. The Spanish league once used to be the best league in the world. This is mostly because of the competition, strong teams and many talented players as well. At one point, the league had the likes of Kaka, Ozil, Messi, Ronaldo, Griezmann and many more at the same time. This is just a mere example out of various instances showing the longevity of the league as well.

In such a competitive league, there are some players who have dominated the Player of the Year Award. Let’s take a look at the top five Players to win the Player of the Year Award in LaLiga.

5. Jan Oblak – 1

In an award where attackers stand higher due to their contribution in scoring and creating goals, it is remarkable that a keeper has won the award. Jan Oblak is Atletico Madrid’s number 1 since 2014. The shot stopper is very talented and has helped Atletico Madrid numerous times. He was a key player in the 2020-21 season when Atletico Madrid won the LaLiga title after 6 years.

The Atletico Madrid goalkeepeer has succumbed to both Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo conceding 10 and 11 goals respectively against them.

4. Antoine Griezmann – 1

Antoine GriezmannAntoine Griezmann won the World Cup with France in 2018

Everything went horribly wrong when Griezmann joined FC Barcelona. The Frenchman failed to live upto his price tag and decided to return home to Atletico Madrid. However at Atletico Madrid, Griezmann never disappoints. As of the 2022-23 season he has scored 11 goals.

The World Cup winner showed his potential and talent in the 2015-16 season. Griezmann scored 22 goals in 38 LaLiga games and overall had 39 goals and assists in 54 games. He eventually won the LaLiga Player of the Year Award in the same season itself.

3. Karim Benzema – 2

Often in the shadow of Cristiano Ronaldo, Karim Benzema showed his true ability after Ronaldo left. He filled in Ronaldo’s boots in terms of goalscoring and did not disappoint. Karim won his first LaLiga Player Of The Year Award in the 2019-20 season. The Frenchman scored 21 goals in the 2019-20 season as Real Madrid went on to win the La Liga title.

Karim Benzema won another Player Of The Year Award in the 2021-22 season which was an iconic season for him. Karim Benzema was the topscorer in La Liga, UEFA Champions League, he won the Player Of The Year Award in both La Liga and UEFA Champions League. Benzema scored 27 goals in 32 La Liga appearances and overall scored 44 goals in 46 appearances. To sum it up, he also won the LaLiga title, UEFA Champions League and the Ballon d’Or as well.

2. Cristiano Ronaldo – 1

Ronaldo Ballon dorCristiano Ronaldo is arguably the best player in the history of football (Courtesy – TEAMtalk)

CR7 is arguably the best player in the history of football alongside Lionel Messi. Real Madrid’s greatest goalscorer has smashed many records in LaLiga and the UEFA Champions League. Cristiano Ronaldo has more goals than appearances for Real Madrid. He has scored 450 goals in 438 appearances throughout all competitions.

It is a surprise that Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Player of the Year Award only once. Ronaldo won the award in the 2013-14 season scoring 31 goals in 30 LaLiga appearances.

1. Lionel Messi – 9

The greatest player in the history of LaLiga and FC Barcelona , Lionel Messi has dominated the Spanish league. The Argentine has won the Player Of The Year award 9 times throughout his career. This shows his dominance keeping the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo at bay. Messi won the inaugural Player Of The Year Award as well in the 2008-09 season.

Messi’s best season in terms of goalscoring was the 2011-12 season. Lionel Messi scored an astounding 50 goals in 37 La =Liga games and overall had a tally of 91 goals in that season. The best record over which no one has ever come close to.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.

Khel Now Logo
© 2023
Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.