World Football

Top five teams to win EFL Cup in consecutive seasons

Jimit BhavsarJimit Bhavsar

September 30 2023
Carabao Cup EFL Cup 2022-23: Round of 16 updated schedule, fixtures

These teams have dominated the competition since its inception

The EFL Cup, League Cup or famously known as the Carabao Cup is a knockout competition in England. It was founded way back in 1961 and since then Liverpool has won the most titles (9). Currently Manchester United are the title holders winning the 2022-23 EFL Cup against Newcastle in the finals. This year Manchester United have the chance to defend their title and win it yet again.

When it comes to winning it consecutively there are some clubs who have won the EFL Cup consecutively. Let’s take a look at the top five clubs to do so.

5. Nottingham Forest (1978,1979)

The Garibaldi are struggling to cope up with the level of the Premier League this season. However they have quite some potential and always have had a good history as well. Nottingham Forest have also won the UCL before which speaks a lot about their rich history.

In 1978, Nottingham Forest set a new record becoming the first club to win the League and the League Cup in the same year. They were matched against Liverpool in the final. Back then the rules were clear stating that the match will be held again if it were to end in a draw. The first bout between Nottingham Forest and Liverpool ended in a draw. Nottingham’s John Robertson won it for them scoring a penalty in the second match.

Nottingham Forest were favourites to win the Carabao Cup in 1979 as well since they were at top of the league and the title holders as well. They beat Southampton 3-2 in the final to become the first team to win it in consecutive years.

Also Read: Top 10 clubs with most Carabao Cup titles in history

4. Nottingham Forest (1989,1990)

The Reds won the EFL Cup consecutively not once but twice. Brian Clough led Nottingham Forest to win the Carabao Cup in 1989 ending their nine year drought. Nottingham Forest beat the previous holders(1988) Luton Town in the final. They won the 1989 Carabao Cup comfortably winning the match 3-1.

Nottingham Forest were yet once again in 1990 considered one of the favourites to win the EFL Cup since they were the title holders. They won it consecutively once again beating Oldham Athletic 1-0 in the final.

3. Manchester United (2009, 2010)

Back when Sir Alex Ferguson dominated English football with his iconic Manchester United side. His star player Cristiano Ronaldo starred in the final as well. Manchester United faced the 2008 EFL Cup winners Tottenham Hotspurs in the 2009 finals. The match ended in a draw and was decided on penalties. Eventually the Red Devils won the League Cup 4-1 on penalties in 2009.

The Reds Devils won it consecutively beating Aston Villa in the 2010 finals. Manchester United won the 2010 League Cup scoring 2 goals against Aston Villa. United were trailing at first in the finals but eventually won the final courtesy of Owen and Rooney’s goals.

2. Liverpool (1981,1982,1983,1984)

After Nottingham Forest pulled off the double once again in 1979 and 1980, Liverpool won the League Cup consecutively for four years.

Liverpool beat West Ham 2-1 in 1981 in a replay match since the initial final ended in a draw. The Scousers had a tough bout in the 1982 final facing Tottenham Hotspurs. However Liverpool eventually held their own till 90 minutes and won the League Cup once again beating Spurs 3-1.

Up until 1983, no other team had won the League Cup in more than 2 consecutive years. Liverpool pulled off this feat beating a formidable Manchester United side 2-1 in the final on extra time. They further extended this record beating Everton in the final in a replay match in 1984. This made Liverpool the first team to win the League Cup consecutively for four years.

1. Manchester City (2018, 2019, 2020, 2021)

Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City are already one of the best teams of our generation. This is due to their consistent and dominant performances in both English and now European football as well. Pep has won the Premier League title 5 times in the past 6 years. He has also led Manchester City to win the EFL Cup four times consecutively just like Liverpool from 2018 to 2021.

In 2018, before Pep Joined, Manchester City had already reached two finals over the last 4 seasons. This was Pep Guardiola’s first final for Manchester City. The Cityzens enjoyed a comfortable 3-0 victory over Arsenal in the 2018 final. The 2019 Carabao Cup final was iconic as Manchester City had a tough match against Chelsea in the final. This match saw Kepa Arrizabalaga defy his manager’s demand to be substituted and stayed on the pitch. Eventually the match went onto penalties where Manchester City won 4-3.

Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City faced Aston Villa in the 2020 Carabao Cup final. Pep made some changes in his starting XI benching some key players like Kevin De Bruyne, Mahrez, Gabriel Jesus. Despite of this, they still had a very strong starting XI and beat Aston Villa 2-1 in the finals. The 2021 Carabao Cup final was held between Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspurs. This was a great chance for Tottenham Hotspurs as the last trophy they won was the League Cup (Carabao Cup) in 2008. Manchester City further extended Tottenham’s trophy drought winning the final 1-0 with Aymeric Laporte’s late goal.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.