World Football

Top 10 clubs with the most Carabao Cup titles in history


January 15 2022
(Courtesy : Eurosport)

The competition has seen stark competition from multiple teams over the years.

England is one of the few countries in Europe that still has two domestic cup competitions. In addition to the FA Cup, there is also the EFL Cup (also known as the Carabao Cup or the League Cup). The cup competitions in England are highly unpredictable and witness fiery encounters. Due to the extensive scheduling, the tournament witnesses fringe talents from top teams which eventually sees gruelling contests.

Although, in recent years, the EFL Cup has seen domination by one team in particular. Manchester City has won the last four editions of the competition to become one of the most successful teams in its history. Having said that, many iconic English clubs have got their hands on the trophy multiple times over the years. 

Let’s find out which are the top 10 clubs to have won the most EFL Cup titles.

10. Birmingham City – 2 

The Blues are one of the oldest football clubs in England with a long history. While the outfit have not won a lot of trophies in their history, they have won the EFL Cup on two different occasions. Their first win came in the 1962-63 season and the second in the 2010-11 campaign. 

9. Arsenal – 2

Arsenal has won two EFL Cup trophies (Courtesy: Arsenal)

In terms of winning trophies, Arsenal are up there among the most successful clubs in England. The 13-time English champions and 14-time FA Cup winners have won the EFL Cup two times, which some may suggest as a relatively low number for a club of their stature. Their two wins have come in 1986-87 and 1992-93 seasons.

8. Leicester City – 3

The Foxes have three EFL Cup wins in their locker over the years. Leicester City created history by winning the Premier League in the 2015-16 season. Moreover, the club also won its first-ever FA Cup at the end of the 2020-21 season by beating Chelsea. Before then, they had three EFL wins in their trophy cabinet, won in 1963-64, 1996-97 and 1999-00 seasons.

7. Nottingham Forest – 4

Nottingham forest last won the EFL Cup in 1990 (Courtesy: Nottingham Forest)

Nottingham Forest may be a second-tier club currently, but it remains a very successful English club historically. They have won the EFL Cup a total of four times, specifically in 1977-78, 1978-79, 1988-89 and 1989-90 seasons. The club also have two European Championship (currently UEFA Champions League) wins in its history, along with two FA Cups and one English League Cup.

6. Tottenham Hotspur – 4

The last trophy Spurs won was the 2008 Carling Cup (Courtesy: Tottenham Hotspur)

Spurs have four EFL Cup wins in their history and it was the last trophy the London-based club won more than a decade ago. Their four League Cup wins have come in 1970-71, 1972-73, 1998-99 and 2007-08. Interestingly, the London-based side have won the FA Cup a total of eight times.

5. Aston Villa – 5

The Villans are one of the English clubs with a very rich history. The outfit have won the EFL Cup a total of five times, specifically in 1960-61, 1974-75, 1976-77, 1993-94, and 1995-96. Aston Villa are also seven-time English league winners and one-time European champions, a feat matched by only a few other outfits. 

4. Chelsea – 5

Chelsea last won the cup in 2015 (Courtesy: Chelsea)

The Blues have won the EFL Cup a total of five times. They also have the chance to add a sixth trophy to the tally in the ongoing 2021-22 season. They have won the competition in 1964-65, 1997-98, 2004-05, 2006-07, and 2014-15. The Blues will face either Arsenal or Liverpool in the final of the current edition, if they make it there themselves.

3. Manchester United – 6

The Red Devils were the winners of the competition before their neighbours Manchester City decided to win it four times in a row until last season. The Red Devils have six EFL Cup wins in their locker and given their overall trophy haul, this is a rather small number. The 20-time English league winners, 12-time FA Cup winners and three-time European champions won the EFL Cup in 1991-92, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2016-17 and 2022-23.

2. Liverpool – 8

Liverpool had won the EFL Cup last in 2012 (Courtesy: Bleacher Report)

The Reds are currently joint at the top with eight EFL Cup wins over the years. However, it has been almost 10 years since they last won the competition. The eight-time winners last won the tournament in 2011-12. Jurgen Klopp has won the Premier League and the UEFA Champions League in recent years with the club and would like to add the EFL Cup to the collection as well.

1. Manchester City – 8 

Manchester City’s rise in the last decade into a powerhouse of English football is symbolised by their complete domination of the EFL Cup. Thanks to new owners and investment, they have brought in top quality players and won many trophies in the past few years. The Citizens have won six EFL Cups in the last eight years, taking the overall tally to eight. They won the last four editions consecutively but were eliminated by West Ham United in the 2020-21 season.

*Last updated on 27 Feb 2023

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook