FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

Team Qatar arrive in Bhubaneswar ahead of India clash

Gourav SamalGourav Samal

November 20 2023
(Courtesy : Sports Odisha)

Qatar arrived on 20 November at around midnight.

The Qatar football team arrived in Bhubaneswar last night, ahead of their upcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers match against India.

Both India and Qatar are placed in Group A of the second round qualification matches, alongside Kuwait and Afghanistan. The top two teams from the group will qualify to the next round of qualification. 

Both the teams have also emerged victorious in their previous game. India secured a 1-0 victory over Kuwait, with Manvir Singh delivering a crucial goal in the 75th minute. On the other hand, Qatar showcased dominance in their encounter with Afghanistan, triumphing with a remarkable 8-1 scoreline.

India and Qatar have faced each other on three occasions prior to this match. Qatar emerged victorious in two games, while India are yet to secure a win. India’s most commendable performance occurred in 2019 when they achieved a 0-0 draw against the formidable Asian powerhouse.

In their previous five matches, Qatar have achieved victory in two games, experienced defeat in two others, while one match resulted in a draw. Undoubtedly, they are determined to maintain their current string of success as they face off against India. The Indian team, bolstered by the unwavering backing of their home crowd, will strive to make the most of this advantage until the final minute of the game.

Last five matches of Qatar

Qatar v Afghahistan (8-1) 

Qatar v Iran (0-4)

Qatar v Iraq (0-0) – 6-5 (P)

Qatar v Russia (1-1)

Qatar v Kenya (1-2)

Qatar Squad

Goalkeepers: Fahad Younes, Meshaal Barsham, Salah Zakaria, Yousef Hassan

Defenders: Bassam al-Rawi, Boualem Khoukhi, Tariq Salman, Pedro Miguel, Homam al-Amin, Yousef Ayman, Hazem Ahmed, Lucas Mendez

Midfielders: Abdullah al-Marafi, Ahmed Fathi, Jassem Jaber, Karim Boudiaf, Hassan al-Haydos, Mustafa Meshaal, Mohamed Waad

Forwards: Akram Afif, Yousef Abdulrazaq, Ahmed Alaaeldin, Almoez Ali, Mohamed Muntari, Ahmed al-Rawi, Tamim Mansour

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.