FIFA U-17 World Cup

FIFA U17 World Cup 2023: Everything you need to know

Manav ChowdhuryManav Chowdhury

November 5 2023
FIFA U17 World Cup 2023

Brazil won the last FIFA U17 World Cup

The FIFA U17 World Cup 2023 will be the 19th edition of the FIFA U17 World Cup, the biennial international men’s youth football tournament contested by the under-17 national teams of the member associations of FIFA. The tournament kicks off on 10 November, with the winners set to be crowned in Surakarta on 2 December. This will be the first time that Indonesia will host a FIFA tournament and the first time that the FIFA U17 World Cup will be held in Southeast Asia.

Luis Figo, Francesco Totti, Ronaldinho, Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Neymar, Victor Osimhen and Phil Foden are among the players who have graced the tournament. This edition marks the tournament’s return after a four-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic forcing FIFA to cancel the 2021 edition. The top two in each of the six groups, along with the four best third-placed teams, will reach the knockout phase. Thereafter, a round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals, a third-place play-off and a final will unfold.

Who holds the most titles?

Nigeria FIFA U17 World Cup
Nigeria last won the FIFA U17 World Cup in 2015

Nigeria is the most successful nation in the tournament’s history, with five titles and three runners-up.

Performance by countries

With five titles, Nigeria tops the list followed by Brazil with four and Ghana and Mexico have won the tournament twice.

Awards distributed in competition

The tournament has four awards:

The Golden Ball is awarded to the most valuable player of the tournament.

The Golden Boot is awarded to the top goalscorer of the tournament.

The Golden Glove is awarded to the most valuable goalkeeper of the tournament.

The FIFA Fair Play Trophy is presented to the team with the best disciplinary record in the tournament.

Records and stats

Brazil has won the most points (191) in the tournament followed by Nigeria (155), Mexico (110) and Spain (108).

Qualified nations for the tournament

Argentina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Canada, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Indonesia, IR Iran, Japan, Korea Republic, Mali, Mexico, Morocco, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Panama, Poland, Senegal, Spain, USA, Uzbekistan, Venezuela.

Who are the defending Champions?

Brazil are the defending champions, having won their fourth title in 2019.

FIFA U17 World Cup 2023: Group Stage Draw

Group A: Indonesia, Ecuador, Panama, Morocco

Group B: Spain, Canada, Mali, Uzbekistan

Group C: Brazil, IR Iran, New Caledonia, England

Group D: Japan, Poland, Argentina, Senegal

Group E: France, Burkina Faso, Korea Republic, USA

Group F: Mexico, Germany, Venezuela, New Zealand

Where and how to watch FIFA U17 World Cup 2023 in India?

The matches of the World Cup will not be broadcast but fans can watch the live matches on FIFA+

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.