World Football

Netherlands announce squad for November European Championship qualifiers

Rajarshi ShuklaRajarshi Shukla

November 13 2023
Netherlands announces 26-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Oranje will face Gibraltar and Ireland in November matches

Jorrel Hato, a 17-year-old defender, has been selected for the Netherlands‘ squad for their final two European Championship qualifiers this month against Gibraltar and Ireland. The team’s goal is to secure a spot in the championships in Germany next year.

Manager Ronald Koeman selected the youngster on Friday following injuries to centre-backs Matthijs de Ligt and Micky van de Ven. The teenage player earned his Ajax Amsterdam bow in April and boasts four Under-21 caps.

The Dutch, who would advance from Group B if they defeat the Irish in Amsterdam on November 17, are still missing Memphis Depay and Frenkie de Jong due to injuries, but Cody Gakpo, goalkeeper Justin Bijlow, midfielder Jerdy Schouten, and forward Calvin Stengs are back in the 25-man roster.

On November 21, they meet Gibraltar in their final group match in Faro, Portugal.

With six games played in Group B, the Netherlands has 12 points, six behind the lead France, which has a perfect record and is assured of first place in the rankings.

Ireland is in fourth place with six points, almost out of the running, while Greece is also on 12 points although has participated in one more game than the Dutch.

Netherlands squad ahead of November international break

Goalkeepers: Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord), Mark Flekken (Brentford), Bart Verbruggen (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester City), Daley Blind (Girona), Stefan de Vrij, Denzel Dumfries (both Inter Milan), Jeremie Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen), Lutsharel Geertruida, Quilindschy Hartman (both Feyenoord), Jorrel Hato (Ajax Amsterdam), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Midfielders: Marten de Roon, Teun Koopmeiners (both Atalanta), Tijjani Reijnders (AC Milan), Jerdy Schouten, Joey Veerman (both PSV Eindhoven), Mats Wieffer (Feyenoord)

Forwards: Steven Bergwijn, Brian Brobbey (both Ajax Amsterdam), Cody Gakpo (Liverpool), Donyell Malen (Borussia Dortmund), Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig), Calvin Stengs (Feyenoord), Wout Weghorst (Hoffenheim).

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.