Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

Uruguay announce squad for November International break

Published at :November 14, 2023 at 3:53 AM
Modified at :November 14, 2023 at 3:58 AM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

Uruguay will face Argentine and Bolivia

In their forthcoming FIFA World Cup 2026 Qualifiers match, the Argentina national football squad will take on Uruguay at the La Bombonera in Buenos Aires, Argentina. On Friday, November 17, the ARG vs. URU match starts at 5:30 AM Indian Standard Time (IST).

Argentina, the defending champions of the world, are off to a fantastic start in their FIFA World Cup 2026 qualification campaign under the tutelage of Lionel Scaloni.

With two goals from skipper Lionel Messi, the national team defeated Peru 2-0 before this pivotal match.

Previously, La Albiceleste defeated Ecuador 1-0 to begin their FIFA World Cup 2026 Qualifiers campaign. They then defeated Bolivia 3-0 on the road. In their third qualifying encounter, they went on to defeat Paraguay by the same score of 1-0.

Argentina leads the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers Conmebol rankings after four games with 12 points.

Uruguay is now ranked second in the FIFA World Cup Qualifications Conmebol standings, having won seven of their four games.

With three goals apiece, Lionel Messi and Nicolás de la Cruz lead the way in the current FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.

Conversely, Uruguay's national football squad is expected to be full of optimism following their 2-0 victory over Brazil at the Estadio Centenario in their previous qualification match.

Uruguay squad ahead of World Cup 2026 qualifiers

Goalkeepers: Sergio Rochet (Internacional), Franco Israel (Sporting Lisbon) and Santiago Mele (Junior Barranquilla)

Defenders: Santiago Bueno (Girona), Bruno Mendez (Corinthians), Sebastian Cacares (América de Mexico), Puma Rodríguez (Vasco da Gama), Mathías Olivera (Napoli), Joaquin Piquerez (Palmeiras), Matías Viña (Sassuolo), and Lucas Olaza (Krasnodar) and Ronald Araujo (Barcelona)

Midfielders: Federico Valverde (Real Madrid), Nahitan Nández (Cagliari), Matías Vecino (Lazio), Manuel Ugarte (Paris Saint-Germain), and Nicolás de la Cruz (River Plate).

Forwards: Agustin Canobbio (Athletico Paranaense), Maximiliano Araujo (Toluca), Facundo Torres (Orlando City), Brian Rodríguez (América de Mexico), Facundo Pellistri (Manchester United), Cristian Olivera (Los Angeles FC), Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Flamengo), and Darwin Nunez (Liverpool).