Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

AFCON- Africa Cup of Nations

Top 10 nations with most AFCON titles in history

Published at :February 12, 2024 at 4:31 PM
Modified at :February 12, 2024 at 4:31 PM
Post Featured Image


Africa Cup of Nations stands as a testament to the rich tapestry of African football

The Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) stands as a testament to the rich tapestry of football in the African continent. Let’s take a trip down memory lane and explore the top 10 nations with the most AFCON titles in history.

10. Tunisia (1 Title)

In 2004, the Cup of Nations found its way to Tunisia. The Carthage Eagles soared high on home soil, securing a 2-1 victory against Morocco in an all-North African encounter. Since then, Tunisia have been a formidable force, with their closest brush with glory being a fourth-place finish in 2019.

9. Zambia (1 Title)

Under the guidance of French coach Herve Renard, Zambia clinched their maiden title in 2012. The tournament in Equatorial Guinea and Gabon saw a thrilling final against Ivory Coast, with Zambia emerging victorious in a penalty shootout after 120 minutes of goalless action.

8. Senegal (1 Title)

Senegal AFCON Sadio Mane
Senegal lifted the AFCON trophy in 2022

The Lions of Teranga etched their name in AFCON history in 2022, finally conquering the continent by beating Egypt on penalties. This triumph was a sweet redemption after setbacks in 2019 and 2002, emphasizing Senegal‘s rising prominence in African football.

7. DR Congo (2 Titles)

DR Congo, Algeria, and Ivory Coast share the distinction of being two-time AFCON champions. DR Congo, formerly known as Zaire, secured their first title in 1968, overcoming Ghana 1-0 in a final held in Ethiopia. The Leopards added another crown in 1974, with Ndaye Mulamba’s record-setting nine goals.

6. Algeria (2 Titles)

Algeria’s AFCON journey began with a resounding victory on home soil in 1990, where they defeated Nigeria 1-0 in the final. The Greens clinched their second title in 2019, overcoming Senegal in a tight contest. Riyad Mahrez‘s stoppage-time heroics and Ismaël Bennacer’s stellar performance marked this triumph.

5. Ivory Coast (3 Titles)

The Ivory Coast’s first title in 1992 came after a marathon penalty shootout against Ghana, ending 11-10 in favor of The Elephants. In 2015, history repeated itself as Ivory Coast secured their second AFCON title, once again defeating Ghana in a dramatic penalty shootout. The Elephants added their third title in the 2023 edition, after making a comeback against Nigeria.

4. Nigeria (3 Titles)

Nigeria‘s Super Eagles have been a dominant force in African football, claiming the AFCON title three times. Triumphant in 1980, 1994, and 2013, Nigeria has left an indelible mark on the tournament. The 2013 victory saw them beat Bukina Faso 1-0 in the final, with Emmanuel Emenike leading the charge.

3. Ghana (4 Titles)

Ghana, a powerhouse in the early years of AFCON, boast four titles. Winning in 1963, 1965, 1978, and 1982, the Black Stars were a force to be reckoned with. Two of their victories came as hosts, emphasizing their prowess on home soil. As they aim to end a 42-year title drought, Ghana remains a formidable contender.

2. Cameroon – 5 Titles

Cameroon have been a dominant force in the 21st century, securing three of their five titles since 2000. Their success in 1984 and 1988, led by stars like Samuel Eto’o, set the stage for another golden generation in the early 2000s. Back-to-back titles in 2000 and 2002, along with reaching the 2003 Confederations Cup final, marked a glorious era for the Indomitable Lions.

1. Egypt – 7 Titles

The undisputed champions of AFCON history, Egypt have secured the title seven times. Their storied success includes a remarkable achievement of winning three consecutive titles from 2006 to 2010. Despite finishing as runners-up in 2017 and 2021, The Pharaohs, led by the prolific Mohamed Salah, remain the benchmark for excellence in African football.

As Senegal embark on the journey to defend their AFCON title, the competition is sure to showcase the rich history and competitive spirit of African football. From Tunisia’s solitary triumph to Egypt’s unparalleled success, each nation’s AFCON journey is a unique chapter in the continent’s footballing legacy. As fans eagerly await the unfolding drama, the stage is set for another chapter to be written in the annals of AFCON history.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.