Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

AFC Asian Cup

AFC Asian Cup 2023: Full list of award winners

Published at :February 11, 2024 at 12:19 AM
Modified at :February 11, 2024 at 12:19 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : AFC)

Aishwarya Chakraborty

Qatar became the only fourth side to defend the trophy in tournament’s history.

The host nation Qatar seals back-to-back AFC Asian Cup titles following their previous success in 2019. AFC announced a number of awards to recognize the great performance in the 18th Edition of the second oldest continental championship after Copa America. The trophies included the top goal-scorer, best goalkeeper, Most Valuable Player among 24 participating teams.

Meshaal Barsham, Akram Afif all received awards for their individual achievements at the AFC Asian Cup 2023 presentation ceremony following the final at the iconic Lusail Stadium. At the same venue where Argentina beat France 4-2 in the penalties to win the coveted World Cup 2022.

Qatar successfully defended their Asian Champions Crown

Defending champions Qatar successfully defended their Crown after Iran(1972 & 1976), Saudi Arabia (1984 & 1988) and Japan(2000 &2004).

In the thrilling final encounter between Qatar and Jordan, the match saw Qatar break the deadlock at the 22nd minute as Akram Afif successfully converted a penalty, giving the hosts a crucial lead. However, Jordan fought back valiantly, equalizing at the 67th minute through Yazan Al-Naimat’s goal. But Jordan’s joy was short-lived as the Maroons were awarded another penalty just five minutes later. Once again, Akram Afif stepped up and calmly slotted the ball into the net, restoring Qatar’s lead to 2-1. In a dramatic finish, at the 90+5th minute, Akram Afif completed his hat-trick from all three penalties, making the score-line 3-1 and sealing Qatar’s victory.

Hussein Ammouta’s side created history by reaching the showpiece clash of the continental championship by beating the mighty South Korea 2-0 in the semi-finals and ending as the runners-up.

AFC Asian Cup 2023 Awards

Most Valuable Player Award – Akram Afif ( Qatar)

Top Goal-scorer Award – Akram Afif ( Qatar)

Best Goalkeeper Award – Meshaal Barsham (Qatar)

Fair Play Award – Qatar

Runners Up – Jordan

Winners – Qatar

The 18th edition of the AFC Asian Cup just ended and we have to wait till January 2027 for the next edition of this quadrennial tournament. The next edition of this championship will be hosted by Saudi Arabia.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.