Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

SAFF U-16 Championship

SAFF U-16 Women's Championship 2024: Fixtures, results, format and more

Published at :February 28, 2024 at 11:48 PM
Modified at :February 29, 2024 at 3:14 PM
Post Featured Image

Yash Pratap Singh

India are the most successful team in the SAFF U-16 Women’s Championship.

The SAFF U-16 Women’s Championship is all set to unveil its sixth edition come March 1, 2024. The tournament has also previously been played as an U-15 and U-17 tournament for the budding female footballers of South-east Asia.

This year the SAFF U-16 Women’s Championship will be held in Nepal with four participating nations. The last edition was held as an U-17 tournament where Russia emerged as the champions among the five participating teams. 

India are the most successful team in the history of the tournament having won the championship twice. The young Blue Tigresses won two successive titles and were crowned champions in 2018 and 2019.

On that note, let us take a look at everything you need to know about the SAFF U-16 Women’s Championship 2024.







The Chyasal Stadium in Lalitpur, Nepal, will host all of the matches.


All the teams will face each other in a round robin format. And the top two teams will qualify for the final.

Tie Breakers

Teams are ranked according to points (3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, 0 points for a loss), and if tied on points, the following tiebreaking criteria are applied, in the order given, to determine the rankings.

  1. Points in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
  2. Goal difference in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
  3. Goals scored in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
  4. If more than two teams are tied, and after applying all head-to-head criteria above, a subset of teams are still tied, all head-to-head criteria above are reapplied exclusively to this subset of teams;
  5. Goal difference in all group matches;
  6. Goals scored in all group matches;
  7. Penalty shoot-out if only two teams are tied and they met in the last round of the group;
  8. Disciplinary points (yellow card = 1 point, red card as a result of two yellow cards = 3 points, direct red card = 3 points, yellow card followed by direct red card = 4 points).


The matches will be streamed on the Sportzworkz YouTube Channel.


1 March 2024 – Bhutan vs India 

2 March 2024 – Bangladesh vs Nepal

4 March 2024 – Bhutan vs Nepal

5 March 2024 – Bangladesh vs India

7 March 2024 – India vs Nepal

8 March 2024 – Bangladesh vs Bhutan

10 March 2024 – FINAL

India’s squad

Goalkeepers: Konjengbam Tamphasana Devi, Munni, Surajmuni Kumari.

Defenders: Amrita Ghosh, Bonifila Shullai, Divyani Linda, Elizabed Lakra, Gauri, Rheanna Liz Jacob, Rupashree Munda, Sarangthem Alena Devi.

Midfielders: Anita Dungdung, Anushka Kumari, Anwita Raghuraman, H Yashica, Longajam Nira Chanu, Ritu Badaik, Shveta Rani, Thanda Moni Baskey.

Forwards: Gurleen Kaur, Gurnaz Kaur, Neha Saji, Pearl Fernandes.

Head Coach: Biby Thomas Muttath

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.