AFC Women's Asian Cup

AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2022 Venues: Everything you need to know

Sattyik SarkarSattyik Sarkar
January 4 2022
Women's Asian Cup venues
(Courtesy : AIFF Media)

The continental showpiece will be played across three grounds in the state of Maharashtra.

The AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2022 will be held from 20th January to 6th February. A total of 12 teams will be participating this time in the competition; previously it was eight. Apart from India, another two countries – Uzbekistan and Chinese Taipei submitted the bids to organize the tournament. However, in June 2020, India were finally granted the hosting rights by the Asian Football Confederation.

The competition will be held in three stadiums across the cities of Mumbai and Pune. On that note, here’s a look at the AFC Women’s Asian Cup venues:

3. Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex (Pune)

More familiar as the Balewadi Stadium, this ground has a capacity of 11,900. However, the capacity isn’t of much concern since the competition will be played behind closed doors. In the past, I-League teams like Air India, Mumbai FC, Pune FC, DSK Shivajians and Bharat FC have used this stadium for their home fixtures.

Even erstwhile Indian Super League side FC Pune City used this as their home ground. Previously, this ground was used for the Commonwealth Youth Games in 2008. It was also used for the Khelo India Youth Games in 2019. However, bad news is that India won’t be playing their Group A fixtures at this ground. Rather most of the Group C fixtures are assigned to this complex.  

2.  Mumbai Football Arena (Mumbai)

AFC Women's Asian Cup 2022
The iconic Mumbai Football Arena is one of the venues for AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2022

Mumbai Football Arena is a stadium of immense importance to Indian Super League side, Bengaluru FC. It was at this stadium in 2019, that the Blues lifted their maiden ISL title, after Rahul Bheke’s late solitary goal on the 117th minute helped them in defeating FC Goa. With a capacity of 18,000, the Mumbai Football Arena serves as the home ground for Mumbai City FC in the ISL.

Back in 2018, the Intercontinental Cup was also held at this venue; a tournament which India won.

The Blue Tigresses will be playing their last Group A fixture on the 26th of January against China PR at the Mumbai Football Arena.

1. DY Patil Stadium (Mumbai)

One of the finest stadiums in the country, the DY Patil Stadium boasts of a reputation of hosting a few matches of the FIFA U-17 World Cup in 2017. With a capacity of 55,000 under its belt, the stadium also serves as a cricket stadium. Previously, it was also used by Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League.

The first-ever Indian Super League finale (2014) was played in this stadium, where Atletico de Kolkata secured the title after defeating Kerala Blasters FC 1-0; courtesy a goal from Mohammed Rafique. Apart from this, Mumbai City used the DY Patil Stadium as their home ground in the first two editions of the ISL. India will play two matches – against Iran (20th) and Chinese Taipei (23rd) in this ground.

For more football updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.