BFC Host Stadium Sports Foundation In Opener On Saturday.

Bengaluru Football Club have named an entirely city-based 20-member squad for the inaugural edition of the Under-13 Youth League which kicks off with a home clash against Stadium Sports Foundation on Saturday, 4th November 2017.

Placed in the Karnataka Zone, the youngsters will be up against four other sides from the city in Ozone Football Academy, Bangalore Youth Football League, Boca Juniors Soccer Schools and Roots Football School apart from Stadium Sports Foundation.

The zonal phase will be played on a home and away basis, just like the U18 I-League and the U15 Youth League, with top two teams from each zone qualifying for the Final Phase which will be held later at a neutral venue.

Among the 20 member squad, five players – Ishaan Rudragowdar, Yash Visal, Joshua Wilson, Arjun Gowda, Aditya Kalasur – have progressed through the BFC Soccer Schools Programme from various centers across the city.

Also Read

Bengaluru FC ‘B’ set to debut in I-League Second Division

India U-19 team: A detailed analysis before the AFC U-19 qualification

Football celebrations continue for Kolkata as Salt Lake Stadium announced to host the ISL 2017-18 final

“It’s very crucial for us to develop local talent at the grassroots level. That was the primary motive when we started the BFC Soccer Schools and with five kids making it to our U13 squad, it’s a massive achievement. Moreover, with the entire squad being local, it provides a perfect platform for our Bengaluru boys to excel at the national level,” said Head of Youth Development, John Kila.

“We invited eight boys from this squad to our BFC Academy Residential setup in Bellary a month ago and gave them the taste of life at our Academy. These players are at the first step of our player pathway and we believe with the right guidance from our Coaches they can progress even further,” he added.

The opening clash against Stadium Sports Foundation kicks off at 9.30 am at the Bangalore Football Stadium tomorrow.

The Team

Goalkeepers: Adhithiyan Senthilkumar (Cathedral School), Ahan Prakash (Delhi Public School East)

Defenders: Aryan Nair (Delhi Public School North), Gagan Amarnath (Inventure Academy), Shyam Patra (Inventure Academy), Yash Visal (Inventure Academy), Joshua Wilson (Clarence High School), Sarath Rajkumar (Army Public School)

Midfielders: Ishaan Rudragowdar (Delhi Public School North), Arjun Gowda (Clarence High School), Macarton Louis Nickson (St. Joseph Indian High School), Parikram Borah (Delhi Public School East), Aditya Kalasur (Delhi Public School East), Abhinav Sunil (Greenwood International School), Soham Varshneya (Oakridge International School)

Forwards: Yohann Victor (St. Joseph’s European School), Hridaya Jain (Stonehill International School), Soumil Kalra (Greenwood International School), Aaron Joshua (St. Joseph’s European School), Ankith P. (Angels High School)

Staff: Rajan Mani (Head Coach), Govardhan V. (Asst. Coach), Levin Vinod (Physio), Rohit Thorat (Team Manager)