Profile Photo

AFC Champions League

  • 1Reviews
  • 10.0 Rating




The AFC Champions League, commonly known as the Asian Champions League, is an annual continental club football competition organised by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). Introduced in 2002, the competition replaced the Asian Club Championship which had run since 1985 and which had replaced the Asian Champion Club Tournament (1967-1971) after a 14-year hiatus. It is the premier club tournament in Asia, equivalent to the CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores, and the UEFA, CAF, CONCACAF and OFC Champions League competitions. A total of 32 clubs compete in the round robin group stage of the competition. Clubs from Asia's strongest national leagues receive automatic berths, with clubs from other nations eligible to qualify via the qualifying playoffs and, in addition, they are also eligible to participate in the AFC Cup. Since 2009, the champions do not qualify automatically for the following year competition. The winner of the AFC Champions League qualifies for the FIFA Club World Cup. The most successful club in the competition is the Pohang Steelers with a total of three titles. The reigning champions of the competition are the Guangzhou Evergrande.


Address Asia

Key Links & Social Media


Org / Governing Body AFC-The Asian Football Confederation
Start Date 0000-00-00
End Date 0000-00-00
Year Founded 1967
TV Partner Fox Sports
  • 10 Reviews
  • 2020-02-20 17:15:40
Asia's own Champions League !
2015 Asian Champions League Final Ceremony - Guangzhou Evergrande
Go to Top