Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp won Coach of the Year while the Puskas prize went to Daniel Zsori.

The FIFA The Best Awards ceremony took place on the 23rd of September 2019, at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan. The ceremony was graced several stars of the football world who had gathered to honour the top performers of the season gone by.

The likes of Leo Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Alex Morgan amongst several others were among the nominees for various awards including the Men’s and Women’s best player awards. Ruud Gullit and Illaria D’Amico were the hosts of the evening in Milan.

We at Khel Now bring you a report of this prestigious ceremony along with the victors of the various awards on offer.

Puskas Award – Daniel Zsori:

The 18-year old was awarded the Puskas award for his spectacular overhead effort that won his side the game against Debrecen FC in the Hungarian League just minutes after coming onto the pitch. The Hungarian beat off Leo Messi amongst several others to lift the much-coveted award.

Best Men’s Coach Award – Jurgen Klopp:

Liverpool FC’s charismatic manager, Jurgen Klopp was awarded the FIFA award for the best Men’s coach for 2018-2019 over his Premier League rivals, Mauricio Pochettino and Pep Guardiola. With Liverpool, the German lifted his first and the club’s sixth Champions League title.

Best Women’s Goalkeeper Award – Sari Van Veenendaal:

The number one of the Dutch Women’s national team, Sari Van Veenendaal was awarded the Best Woman’s goalkeeper award for her performances with Holland at the Women’s World Cup. The former Arsenal keeper delivered a rousing speech, calling out to little girls all over the world to follow their dreams.

FIFA Fair Play Award – Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United):

The Leeds United coach was recognised by FIFA for his actions during a crucial Championship game against Aston Villa. Leeds, who had scored a goal that would see them go through to the Premier League via automatic promotion, when an Aston Villa player had gone down injured were instructed by their manager to allow the opposition to score, despite facing the playoffs as a result.

FIFPro Women’s World XI:

Sari van Veenendaal; Lucy Bronze, Nilla Fischer, Kelley O’Hara, Wendie Renard; Julie Ertz, Amandine Henry, Rose Lavelle; Marta, Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe made up the FIFPro Women’s World 11 for 2019.  The team was selected based on the individual’s performances for both club and country over the course of the 2018-2019 season.

Best Men’s Goalkeeper Award – Alisson Becker:

The Brazilian shot-stopper Alisson Becker’s performances for Liverpool earned him the FIFA Best Goalkeeper award ahead of Ederson and Marc Andre Ter Stegen. The Champions League winner is currently injured but will be hoping to get back into the fold as soon as possible.

FIFPro Men’s World 11:

Alisson; Matthijs de Ligt, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Virgil van Dijk; Frenkie de Jong, Eden Hazard, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi were chosen as the FIFPro Men’s World XI for the 2018-2019 season.

FIFA Men’s Best Player – Lionel Messi:

The Atomic Flea won his sixth FIFA Player of the Season award for his exploits with Barcelona where he won his tenth La Liga trophy. The forward beat out Virgil Van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo for the award, both of whom enjoyed spectacular seasons at club and international level.

FIFA Women’s Best Player – Megan Rapinoe:

One could not think of a more deserving player to lift the final trophy of the night. World Cup winner, golden boot winner and LGBTQ icon, Megan Rapinoe was awarded the FIFA Women’s best player award for her six goals in the Women’s World cup in France. The outspoken attacker used her acceptance speech to raise awareness about the issues surrounding the game in typical Megan Rapinoe fashion, charging fans watching all over the world to take it upon themselves to do their part to make the world a better place.