Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Spain, Germany to meet as FIFA World Cup 2022 draw reveals groups

Published at :April 2, 2022 at 5:57 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : FIFA World Cup/Twitter)


Lionel Messi's Argentina will clash against Robert Lewandowski-led Poland.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup group stage draw was held on Friday (April 01, 2022). The showpiece event will take place from November 21, 2022 to December 18, 2022 in Qatar. At the moment, 29 teams have booked their place for the World Cup in Qatar. Three teams are yet to qualify for the finals. The opening fixture of the competition will feature hosts Qatar and Ecuador.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup draw took place at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Centre in Qatar. It decided which teams will face who in the Group stages of the tournament. 32 teams were drawn into eight groups of four, after being placed in separate pots according to their FIFA Rankings.

FIFA World Cup 2022 Groups

Group A features hosts Qatar. Finalists in 2010, the Netherlands will join them. Meanwhile, Senegal and Ecuador complete the group. Meanwhile, former champions England are in Group B alongside the USA, Iran and the winner of the European playoff. Two-time champions Argentina are in Group C. Mexico, Poland and Saudi Arabia are alongside them. Elsewhere, defending champions France are in Group D. It will also feature Denmark, Tunisia and the winner of the inter-continental playoff 1.

Group E is one of the toughest classifications in the competition. It contains heavyweights Spain and Germany. Asian giants Japan are alongside them. The group will also feature the winner of the inter-continental playoff 2. Belgium make it into Group F alongside Morocco, Croatia and Canada. Brazil, the record champions, are placed in Group G. They have been drawn alongside Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon. Meanwhile, 2016 Euro winners Portugal enter Group H. It will also include Uruguay, South Korea and Ghana.

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands

Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales / Scotland / Ukraine

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D: France, Peru / Australia / UAE, Denmark, Tunisia

Group E: Spain, Costa Rica / New Zealand, Germany, Japan

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea

Qualification path for remaining teams

A total of 29 teams have secured their places for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. The remaining spots will be decided by the end of June 2022. Two teams will qualify through the inter-confederation playoffs. The final European side will qualify after the remaining UEFA World Cup Qualifier playoff match.

Cost Rica and New Zealand face each other in hope of qualifying for the quadrennial event. Meanwhile, the winner of UAE Vs Australia will compete against Peru to make it to the World Cup. Wales will face the winner of Scotland Vs Ukraine to complete the 32-team quota.

Some major teams will miss out on the finals in Qatar. Italy will not be featuring at the World Cup for a second consecutive edition. The same goes for Chile. Meanwhile, Nigeria failed to make it to the showpiece event for the first time in 16 years. Colombia, Egypt and Sweden are among other teams that will not compete this year.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Twitter and join our community on Telegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.