The new team won the bidding to enter the competition.

Vatika Football club has been granted a direct entry into the Delhi Premier league. The new team gained entry after winning the bid. Football Delhi floated an RFP for a direct entry to Premier League and Vatika FC successfully achieved the tough conditions of the bidding to become the first-ever team to gain direct entry to the first-ever Premier League in Delhi.

The new club is mentored by ex-civil-servant and founder of pan-India logistics companies, Mr. Rajnish Kumar. He has a very keen interest in the game, and very strongly feels that the football situation is ripe for bright new sparks. The club is run by two alumni of Hindu College Football, Saurav Baisoya and Kushagra Srivastava.

On achieving the direct entry to Delhi Premier League, Mr. Rajnish Kumar stated that Vatika FC is a player-focused, player-driven club. The team stays true to its key tenets, to be ethical and value-based; empathy, humility, and élan.

It is a project that started from the grassroots. It comes from the heart of Vasant Kunj and stays true to the cosmopolitan and suburban identity it has cultivated. Above all, the club is best summed up through its motto, “Passion on move”.

On this first, Mr. Shaji Prabhakaran President, Football Delhi expressed his happiness and welcomed Vatika FC to be an integral part of Football Delhi and wished the new team all the success.

He further stated that the entry of Vatika FC into the Premier League as a first-ever direct entry team by investing into football in Delhi indicates that football in Delhi is in the right track and this would only improve the competitiveness of the local football.

With Premier League each club will play a minimum of 20 games, a much-improved situation for players. This was only possible because of the commitment and hard work of each of these clubs in the Premier League who are creating a positive situation for football development in Delhi. He complimented all the 11 teams in the Premier League for their energy, passion and commitment to improving football in Delhi.

Last year Football Delhi Senior Division champion, Delhi Football Club will be focusing on to add another title to their closet. A total of 110 matches will be played in the Delhi Premier League. The winner of the Delhi Premier League will qualify for the I-league 2nd division.

The Delhi Premier League teams are Delhi FC, Hindustan FC, Indian Air Force (New Delhi), Royal Rangers FC, Garhwal FC, Rangers SC, Friends United FC, Sudeva Delhi FC, Uttarakhand FC, Tarun Sangha FC and Vatika FC.

For more football updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.