The tactician replaces Luis Norton de Matos who left his position by mutual consent earlier this month.

All India Football Federation’s Technical Committee meeting was chaired over by Shyam Thapa, Chairman, AIFF Technical Committee at Football Headquarters, the Football House in Dwarka today (July 25, 2018).

Besides AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das and National Team Director Abhishek Yadav, Henry Menezes, Sundar Raman and Pradip Datta also attended the meeting.

Yadav apprised the Committee about the performances all the age-group National Teams including the U-16 National Team which are slated to play in the AFC U-16 Championship Malaysia 2018 in September 2018.


The biggest learning is that Indian Arrows need to stay absolutely focused- Abhishek Yadav

Indian Football Season 2017-18 Review: Indian Arrows

India name 25-man squad for U-20 COTIF Tournament in Spain

The Committee unanimously agreed upon Floyd Pinto taking over as the new Head Coach of Indian Arrows while his assistant will be appointed later after shortlisting applications for the post.

Pinto is currently in Spain with the U-20 national team which consists of boys who represented India in the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017 and the U-19 National Team boys. The team has already played friendly matches against local clubs proceeding to the COTIF Tournament where they take on Argentina U-20, Venezuela U-20, Mauritania U-20 and Murcia U-20.

The India U-20 National Team will be clashing swords with Argentina U-20, Venezuela U-and Mauritania U-20 when the boys travel to Spain to participate in the COTIF Cup – the Mini Mundial Sub U-20 Men’s Football Tournament. The tournament is slated to kick-off on July 29, 2018.Besides, the U-20 boys will also play Murcia U-20, a local side in the tournament.