Similar to the previous season, the clubs will play the majority of their games in broad daylight.

The wait is over, the I-League kicks-off on October 26, 2018, with it being telecast live on the Star Sports Network, the AIFF has confirmed. The new season of the top flight will be the 12th instalment of India’s prestigious football tournament.

In a recent development regarding the league, the apex body of football in India reinstated Churchill Brothers despite their relegation last season, increasing the number of teams of the league from 10 to 11. Churchill Brothers were placed 9th in the league and had to face the drop.

Joining the 10 teams from the previous season are the winners of the I-League Second Division Real Kashmir. There were rounds of discussions regarding their home base, but it has been decided that they will play from Kashmir. The home base of Indian Arrows, on the other hand, will be Odisha, with an equal number of games being played at the Barabati and Kalinga Stadium in Cuttack.

The league will start with Indian Arrows’ visit to Chennai City  in an evening kick-off in Coimbatore. Meanwhile, champions Minerva Punjab will begin the defence of their title on October 28, 2018, when they host Churchill Brothers. The first Kolkata Derby of the season is on 16th December, with East Bengal being the home side, while the other derby is on 27th January 2019 with Mohun Bagan at home.