Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score


Gokulam Kerala beat Mohammedan SC to retain I-League title

Published at :May 15, 2022 at 5:22 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : I-League Media)


The Malabarians are also the first team to successfully defend the trophy in its 15-year history.

Gokulam Kerala held onto their nerves and created history by becoming the first-ever side to win two successive I-League titles after their win against Mohammedan SC, here at the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan Stadium tonight. A narrow 2-1 victory on hostile territory saw the Malabarians win the game and win the title with a six-point advantage, also ending Mohammedan’s seven-game unbeaten streak in the process.

Mohammedan SC needed a win to lift the title, while Gokulam Kerala needed a draw at least to get their hands on the trophy. The stadium filled up as fans of the Black and White Brigade were buzzing and backing their team to attack. Building on the morale-boosting support, Mohammedan dominated the possession in the first half while Gokulam seemed content trying their luck on the counter.

[KH_ADWORDS type="4" align="center"][/KH_ADWORDS]

The only effort on target in the first half came from an Andelo Rudovic freekick. The Bosnian’s effort was curling away from Rakshit Dagar but lacked power. As a result, the Gokulam shot-stopper palmed it away to safety. At the other end, Zothanmawia almost committed a huge blunder as he came charging out almost towards the middle third to stop Jourdain Fletcher on the counter. The Jamaican beat the keeper but failed to keep his long-ranger on target.

All the goals came in the second half, in the span of eleven minutes. Four minutes into the second half, the deadlock was broken as Rishad came pacing down the middle and made his finish look easy as he slotted it past Zothanmawia to give his side a crucial lead. Seven minutes later, Marcus Joseph’s freekick picked up a hefty deflection off Azharuddin Mallick and hit the back of the net.

Mohammedan SC needed another goal for the title but the third and final goal of the match was netted by the Malabarians. Just four minutes after the equaliser, Luka Majcen played Emil Benny through on goal and Benny replicated the finish for the first goal as Gokulam led and held onto the advantage till the full-time whistle.

Gokulam Kerala did not just become the first team to win back-to-back I-League titles. The Malabarians also added another feather to the cap of Kerala football. Earlier this month, in a similar encounter, Kerala defeated Bengal on penalties to win the 75th Santosh Trophy in their own backyard. Two victories that are guaranteed to inspire the already prospering grassroot football in the state.

The winners of the I-League will get a prize sum of INR 1 Crore, while the second, third and fourth-placed teams in the table will get a sum of Rs 60 lakhs, 40 lakhs, and 25 lakhs respectively. The list of the individual awards along with the prize money follows below.

End of Season Awards

Highest goal scorer (Rs 2.5 lakhs) – Marcus Joseph (Mohammedan SC)

Hero Moto Corp Best goalkeeper (Rs 2.5 lakhs) – Bhaskar Roy (Rajasthan United)

Hero Moto Corp Jarnail Singh Award for the best defender (Rs 2.5 lakhs) – Bouba Aminou (Gokulam Kerala FC)

Best midfielder (Rs 2.5 lakhs)– Jithin MS (Gokulam Kerala FC)

Best emerging player (U-22) (Rs 2.5 lakhs) – Jiteshwor Singh (Neroca FC)

Syed Abdul Rahim Award for the best coach – Vincenzo Annese (Gokulam Kerala FC)

Hero Moto Corp Hero of the league (Rs 5 lakhs) – Marcus Joseph (Mohammedan SC)

For more football updates, follow Khel Now on Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.