The 23-year-old excelled for Vasco SC in the Goa Pro League last season.

FC Bengaluru United have completed the signing of Denil Rebello from Goan club Vasco SC, Khel Now can confirm. The midfielder put pen to paper on a short-term deal at his new club.

“Denil Rebello has joined FC Bengaluru United. He has agreed terms and signed on a short-term deal with them,” sources closed to the developments informed Khel Now. The club are currently waiting to hear from the All India Football Federation (AIFF) regarding their nomination to the I-League Qualifiers. If all goes to plan, they will feature in the competition in September.

Player profile

Hailing from Chinchinim in Goa, Denil Rebello kick-started his football career with the youth teams of Salgaocar FC. With them, he used to take part in Goa Football Association (GFA)’s tournaments consistently. In the 2019-20 season, he featured in the Goa Pro League for the first time with the Salgaocar senior team.

Fellow Goan side Vasco Sports Club signed him ahead of the 2020-21 season. He played in Goa Pro League 2020-21 with them, also scoring two goals in the process. The 23-year-old’s performances at the Port Towners caught the eye of many clubs.

As things stand, he will now represent Bengaluru United in the I-League Qualifiers, if they qualify for the competition.

I-League Qualifiers

Last week, Khel Now revealed that the AIFF has asked ₹2.5 lakhs in the name of a Participation Fee from teams nominated for the I-League Qualifiers. The decision has understandably created unrest among some clubs and few state football associations had also written to the federation informing their respective stances.

However, the AIFF defended their decision, saying that they will be bearing all the expenses with the clubs having to pay nothing else apart from the fee.

“The I-League Qualifiers will take place inside a bio-bubble in Bengaluru, in September. As a result, there is absolutely no possibility of allowing more than 10 teams. The All India Football Federation will be paying for all costs,” AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das said. A total of 29 teams have been nominated from all across the country for the competition. However, only 10 teams will qualify in the end.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.