Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

ISL- Indian Super League

Players who have shifted base from A-League to ISL

Published at :May 25, 2024 at 7:23 PM
Modified at :May 25, 2024 at 7:23 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : ISL Media)

JN Balraj

Some of these players have even won the ISL.

A few years back, Roy Krishna, having just won the Johnny Warren Medal as the A-League’s best player, shocked all observers when he headed off for a new adventure with Indian Super League giants ATK. He was joined by teammate David Willaims that same season. 

Their combo netted 22 goals, with Krishna finishing joint top scorer in the league in an ATK side that won the league. Also, Bengaluru FC cult-hero Erik Paartalu, who retired at the club, laid the foundations for the stampede that followed.

Currently, Indian Super League has become a go-to destination for even the brightest performers of the Oceania competition – A-League. The move of Adam Le Fondre, Adrian Luna and now Jason Cummings shows the future is there in India. 

The uncertainty over A-League’s salary cup has been Indian Super League’s gain. Also the rule that every club had to have a foreign player from one of the AFC member nations on their roster played a part. As with most of the top talents in West and East Asia beyond a team’s budget in the ISL, Australia emerged as a market for the ISL clubs.

Let us take a look at the list of players who directly shifted base from A-League to the Indian soil.

  • Jason Cummings 
  • Jordan Elsey
  • Jaushua Sotirio
  • Paulo Retre
  • Tomi Juric
  • Ryan Williams
  • Brendan Hamill
  • Aleksandar Jovanovic
  • Apostolos Giannou
  • Rostyn Griffiths
  • Michael Jakobsen
  • Osama Malik
  • Jordan O’Doherty
  • Brad Inman
  • Joel Chianese
  • Adrian Luna
  • James Donachie
  • Kristian Opseth
  • Adam Le Fondre
  • Garry Hooper
  • Jordan Murray
  • Nick Fitzgerald
  • Dylan Fox
  • Jacob Tratt
  • Steven Taylor
  • Aaron Amad-Holloway
  • Scott Neville
  • Mattie Steinmann
  • David Williams
  • Roy Krishna
  • Manuel Arana
  • Dimas Delgado
  • Erik Paartalu

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.