Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score


I-League: List of clubs who have won the title

Published at :April 7, 2024 at 12:16 PM
Modified at :April 7, 2024 at 1:52 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : AIFF media)

Gourav Samal

Mohhamedan Sporting became the I-League champions for 2023-24 on Saturday.

The I-League is an annual football league of India that is organized by the AIFF. Founded in 2007, it was named as the successor to the National Football League which was running from 1996. 

At first, the league was being conducted between 10 clubs which increased to 12 in the very next year after its inception. As of now, 13 teams are participating in the league and a total of 39 different clubs have been part of the league so far. 

From the 2022-23 season, the league is being conducted with promotion and relegation. The relegated club goes to I-League 2, while the winners are promoted to the Indian Super League. Punjab FC were the first club to get promoted to the ISL after winning the title last year. 

Seven clubs in total have won the league so far. Dempo Sports Club have won the title seven times, which is the most by any club. While Churchill Brothers, Mohun Bagan Super Giant, Bengaluru FC and Gokulam Kerala have won the league twice. Salgaocar FC, Aizawl FC, Minerva Punjab, Chennai City and Roundglass Punjab have managed to win it once. Mohammedan Sporting became the current champions of season 2023-24.

Here is the list of title winners of the I-League: 

2023-24Mohammedan SCTBD
2022-23Dempo SCChurchill Brothers FC
2021-22Churchill Brothers FCMohun Bagan
2020-21Dempo SCChurchill Brothers FC
2019-20Salgaocar FCEast Bengal FC
2018-19Dempo SCEast Bengal FC
2017-18Churchill Brothers FCPune FC
2016-17Bengaluru FCEast Bengal FC
2015-16Aizawl FCBengaluru FC
2014-15Minerva Punjab FCMohun Bagan
2013-14Aizawl FCMohun Bagan
2012-13Minerva Punjab FCNEROCA FC
2011-12Chennai City FCEast Bengal FC
2010-11Mohun BaganNot Awarded
2009-10Gokulam Kerala FCChurchill Brothers
2008-09Gokulam Kerala FCMohammedan
2007-08RoundGlass PunjabSreenidi Deccan FC

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.