Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Indian Football

Swami Vivekananda NFC U-20 Final: Karnataka lock horns with Delhi

Published at :May 21, 2024 at 9:44 PM
Modified at :May 21, 2024 at 9:44 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : AIFF)

Khel Now

Karnataka have the best defence in the tournament.

The Swami Vivekananda U-20 Men’s National Football Championship 2024 is at its business end, and a sleek new trophy bearing the bust of the great visionary awaits the winners of the championship at the Ramakrishna Mission Ashrama Ground in Narainpur, Chhattisgarh, on Wednesday, May 22, 2024.

After 54 matches that spanned over a month, Karnataka and Delhi have made it to the final. While both are undefeated so far, Karnataka and Delhi have employed two different approaches in the competition.

Karnataka have the most miserly defence in the tournament so far. They have conceded just a solitary goal from their five matches, having netted 20 goals.

The only goal they have conceded in this tournament was in their first match against Jharkhand (3-1), while their biggest victory so far was against Ladakh (11-0).

While their goalkeeper Sam George has managed to keep four clean sheets from five appearances, Saikhom Borish Singh has been carrying them through at the other end of the pitch, with six goals to his name. The Karnataka forward is just one behind Mizoram’s Lalthankima in the top scorer’s charts.

At the other end of the spectrum are the side from the capital, who have shown the intent to play an expansive game, looking to score multiple goals against their opponents. They have netted 22 goals from five matches thus far, their biggest victory coming against Pondicherry (7-0) in the group stage.

Delhi have, however, shown a lot of grit and determination to get the required results; having netted six times in the second half of their last three matches. Ramesh Chhetri and Akshay Raj Singh (four each), and Rituraj Mohan (three) have been the primary goal scorers for them.

The Swami Vivekananda U-20 Men’s NFC final between Karnataka and Delhi will kick off at 3.30 pm IST, and will be streamed live on the Indian Football YouTube channel.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.