Dynamos Souvik tops chart; Indians share equal ‘on-field’ time in ISL 2016…

Indian players have done well for themselves in the Hero Indian Super League with Delhi Dynamos defender Souvik Chakraborty emerging as the only player to feature in every minute of the league stage so far.

Souvik, who has been part of Delhi Dynamos since the inception in 2014, has played 1260 minutes in 14 matches, making him the player to have spent the maximum minutes on the field. He is followed by Kerala Blasters defender, Sandesh Jhingan, who clocked 1248 minutes and was replaced only once in the league stage, sitting out for the last 12 minutes.

There are two other Indian players — Debjit Majumder (Atletico de Kolkata) and Mehrajuddin Wadoo (Chennaiyin FC) – in the top 10. Among the top 15 players, seven are Indians while the Indian players representation goes up to 12 in the top 25 list, reflecting on the equal opportunity ISL presents to the Indian players and how they have earned the respect of their coaches to cement an important place in the starting line-up for their respective teams.

Souvik has been a favourite of Delhi Dynamos coach Gianluca Zambrotta and occupied the right-back slot for all matches. He didn’t just make up the numbers but also put up impressive performances, making him an integral part of Delhi Dynamos.

Jhingan has been the leading performer for Kerala Blasters since the start and was trusted by Steve Coppell in defence. Jhingan formed a strong central-defensive partnership with Cedric Hengbart whenever marquee player Aaron Hughes was not available and when the Northern Ireland international was on the field, Coppell used Jhingan on the flanks.

Chennaiyin FC defender Mehrajuddin Wadoo and Atletico de Kolkata goalkeeper Debjit Majumder were also never substituted whenever they were fielded for 13 out of the 14 matches their respective teams have played so far. They only sat out of their concluding league clashes as their respective coaches opted to give others a chance with nothing at stake. Atletico de Kolkata had already qualified before the last league game and Chennaiyin FC were out of the race.

FC Pune City marquee Mohamed Sissoko is the only marquee name to feature among the top 10 players who have played maximum minutes. Sissoko was a late addition to FC Pune City after former Barcelona midfielder Eidur Gudjohnsen was ruled out with an injury and Sissoko did not disappoint since making a winning debut against FC Goa at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Fatorda-Goa. 

From among the international players, Kerala Blasters defender Cedric Hengbart leads the charts at number three with 1237 minutes, while Lucian Goian and Krisztian Vadocz from Mumbai City FC complete the top-five with 1234 and 1232 minutes respectively.

Top-10 players with maximum minutes on the field during league stage: Souvik Chakraborty (1260 minutes), Sandesh Jhingan (1248 minutes), Cedric Hengbart (1237 minutes), Lucian Goian (1234 minutes), Krisztian Vadocz (1232 minutes), Jonatan Lucca (1226 minutes), Debjit Majumder (1170 minutes), Mehrajuddin Wadoo (1170 minutes), Mohamed Sissoko (1170 minutes) and Apoula Edel Bete (1170 minutes).

Photo © ISL Media 

Report Via ISL Press Release