Majority of these players featured for the first team of the Juggernauts last season.

Odisha FC have officially announced the departures of six of their players viz. Narayan Das, Rana Gharami, Romeo Fernandes, Amit Tudu, Bikramjit Singh, and Lalchhuanmawia Fanai (Chhuantea). The Indian Super League (ISL) outfit thanked the players for their services on social media and wished them the best in their future endeavors on Monday.

Among them, Narayan Das played a key role at the back for Odisha in their debut term, featuring 18 times and even has an assist to his name. He joined the erstwhile Delhi Dynamos ahead of the 2018-19 campaign and stayed with the re-branded club last year.

Odisha FC announced the departures of six players on Monday

Meanwhile, Romeo Fernandes had joined Delhi Dynamos in 2017 and also moved to Odisha last year, thus spending three seasons at the club, but couldn’t make the sort of impact that first helped him garner attention during his time at FC Goa. Last campaign, the attacker was restricted to only three appearances, which concluded a rather disappointing spell with the Bhubaneswar-based club.

ALSO READ: Stuart Baxter: There will be an emphasis on youth at Odisha FC

The Juggernauts have also parted ways with Rana Gharami and Amit Tudu. Gharami made a mere four appearances for them in the latest campaign and has moved to 2nd Division League side FC Bengaluru United.

As for Tudu, he didn’t play a single game for the senior team of Odisha FC. Nevertheless, at 22, the youngster has time on his hands and will be hoping to kick-start his career by first finding himself a club that can provide regular minutes on the field. On the other hand, Bikramjit Singh signed for the Dynamos in 2018 and had a solid first season, scoring two goals across 11 games. However, he couldn’t make the same impact in the following campaign with Odisha, playing only six matches last term and has left the club for pastures new.  

Lastly, Lalchhuanmawia Fanai has also been released by the Indian outfit, which is understandable given that he wasn’t a prominent part of the setup and played just three matches in the sixth edition of the ISL. In any case, the full-back will represent Chennaiyin FC in the 2020-21 season. Odisha have also made some great additions to their squad and will be hoping to finish in the playoffs spots under the tutelage of Stuart Baxter.   

For more football updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.