Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Premier League

List of players to win Premier League Young Player of the Year award

Published at :May 17, 2024 at 10:39 PM
Modified at :May 17, 2024 at 10:39 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Premier League)

Rajarshi Shukla

Bukayo Saka won Young Player of the Year award for the 2022-23 season

The Young Player of the Year award, often known as the PFA Young Player of the Year or just the Young Player of the Year, is presented annually to the young player in English football who is thought to have performed the most outstanding player of the season. Players must have been 21 years of age or younger on July 1st, 2021, the day before the season began.

The age restriction had previously been set at 23, which sparked debate in the press over how a player who ended the season at 24 could truly be regarded as “young” in the context of football.

The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA), the players’ trade union, holds an annual poll to select the winner of the award. The award has been given out since the 1973–74 season. Kevin Beattie, a defender for Ipswich Town, was the first recipient of the award. Bukayo Saka, an Arsenal footballer, is the current recipient; he was given the honour on August 29, 2023.

All previous winners of the award have competed in the Premier League, despite the fact that players of all levels are eligible to apply. The first player who played at the top level of English football to be shortlisted for the award was Ryan Sessegnon of Fulham in 2018.

The PFA publishes a shortlist of finalists in April, and the winner of the prize is revealed at a banquet in London along with the recipients of the organization’s other annual awards. Because their fellow professionals select the winner, the players view the honour as extremely significant.

List of players to win Premier League Young Player of the Year award

1973–74Kevin BeattieIpswich Town
1974–75Mervyn DayWest Ham United
1975–76Peter BarnesManchester City
1976–77Andy GrayAston Villa
1977–78Tony WoodcockNottingham Forest
1978–79Cyrille RegisWest Bromwich Albion
1979–80Glenn HoddleTottenham Hotspur
1980–81Gary ShawAston Villa
1981–82Steve MoranSouthampton
1982–83Ian RushLiverpool
1983–84Paul WalshLuton Town
1984–85Mark HughesManchester United
1985–86Tony CotteeWest Ham United
1986–87Tony AdamsArsenal
1987–88Paul GascoigneNewcastle United
1988–89Paul MersonArsenal
1989–90Matthew Le TissierSouthampton
1990–91Lee SharpeManchester United
1991–92Ryan GiggsManchester United
1992–93Ryan Giggs (2)Manchester United
1993–94Andy ColeNewcastle United
1994–95Robbie FowlerLiverpool
1995–96Robbie Fowler (2)Liverpool
1996–97David BeckhamManchester United
1997–98Michael OwenLiverpool
1998–99Nicolas AnelkaArsenal
1999–2000Harry KewellLeeds United
2000–01Steven GerrardLiverpool
2001–02Craig BellamyNewcastle United
2002–03Jermaine JenasNewcastle United
2003–04Scott ParkerCharlton AthleticChelsea
2004–05Wayne RooneyManchester United
2005–06Wayne Rooney (2)Manchester United
2006–07Cristiano RonaldoManchester United
2007–08Cesc FàbregasArsenal
2008–09Ashley YoungAston Villa
2009–10James MilnerAston Villa
2010–11Jack WilshereArsenal
2011–12Kyle WalkerTottenham Hotspur
2012–13Gareth BaleTottenham Hotspur
2013–14Eden HazardChelsea
2014–15Harry KaneTottenham Hotspur
2015–16Dele AlliTottenham Hotspur
2016–17Dele Alli (2)Tottenham Hotspur
2017–18Leroy SanéManchester City
2018–19Raheem SterlingManchester City
2019–20Trent Alexander-ArnoldLiverpool
2020–21Phil FodenManchester City
2021–22Phil Foden (2)Manchester City
2022–23Bukayo SakaArsenal
2023-24 Cole Palmer Chelsea

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.