The Black Panthers have signed several high-profile players to boost their promotion hopes.

Ahead of the 2nd division League mini tournament, Mohammedan SC have announced their squad. The Black Panthers are being regarded as the favourites to win the league and of promotion to the I-League, after their signing of several high profile domestic and overseas players in the transfer window.

The 2nd division League mini tournament is set to commence from mid-September and will be the first football competition in India in after the sport came to a standstill for the pandemic. The winners shall be awarded a direct entry to the I-League, a feat which Mohammedan SC have waited for long and are now eager to achieve.

Mohammedan SC have shown intent in their signings as they started with retaining their top performers from last season starting with Tirthankar Sarkar, Priyant Singh and Vanlalbiaa Chhangte. The Black Panthers have also appointed former Punjab FC head coach Yan Law, who helped the northerners to a third place finish, tied on points with second placed East Bengal in the I-League during the 2019-20 season.

The Kolkata-based-outfit have also added experienced foreigners in Willis Plaza and Eze Kingsley on either end of the pitch. Experienced domestic players Shouvik Ghosh and Samuel Shadap also signed for the Black Panthers ahead of the mini tournament.

The shock signings came a little later as the club signed youngsters Anwar Ali Jr, Himanshu Jangra and Suraj Rawat. Highly rated Nepal International Abhishek Rijal have also joined the club, who will be one of the players to watch out for in the upcoming campaign.

Here is the list of the full squad along with the support staff.

GOALKEEPERS: Priyant Singh, Jafar Mondal, Subham Roy, Miraj Ali

DEFENDERS: Shafiul Rahman, Shoubhik Ghosh, Hira Mondal, Sujit Sadhu, Arijit Singh, Eze Kingsley, Anwar Ali, Balwinder Singh, Nabi Hussain Khan

MIDFIELDERS: Abhishek Rijal, Satyam Sharma, Firoj Ali, Tirthankar Sarkar, Suraj Rawat, Vanlalbiaa Chhangte, Sena Fanai, Sanjib Ghosh, Moses Lalrinzuala, Aditya Saha, Moinuddin Khan, Sheikh Faiaz, Samuel Shadap, Sohail Khatri

FORWARDS: Willis Plaza, Jaskaranpreet Singh, MS Dwangliana, Shamsad Ali, Himanshu Jangra, Pritam Sarkar.

Head Coach: Yan Law
Assistant Coach: Saheed Ramon
Technical Director: Dipendu Biswas
Goalkeeper Coach: Sudip Sarkar
Manager: Belal Ahmed Khan
Performance Analyst: Devrup Jyoti Gupta
Physiotherapists: Partho Pal, Biswajeet Roy

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Twitter and join our community on Telegram.