Lifting the trophy after a season is a dream come true for some teams but these clubs have done it for insane amount of times.

There are a select few sides across Europe that have maintained unparalleled supremacy in their country and have enjoyed a sustained period of dominance in their respective leagues. Winning a title in one season is hard enough but repeating that feat over and over again every single season is truly incredible. It displays an unquenchable thirst for success, laudable professionalism, and the desire to put in the hard yards to remain at the top of the pyramid and win consecutive league titles.

There is an inclination among most neutrals to belittle their achievements, as the constant predictable outcome tends to draw envy and loathing. To be fair, many also dislike the clubs because of the questionable manner in which some have acquired and solidified their apex position.

Nevertheless, let’s take a look at the clubs that have recorded the longest streaks of consecutive league titles won across the top five European leagues:

5. Inter Milan – 5 titles

Inter Milan are no longer the force they once were but are aiming to reclaim their throne under the leadership of Antonio Conte. They have shown signs of progress as shrewd recruitment in the market and a defined style of play helped them to challenge for the title albeit unsuccessfully.

Nonetheless, the Nerazzuri once were the leading powerhouse of Italian football when they romped to five Scudettos in a row from 2005 to 2010. Since then, they are yet to taste success in the league but will be hoping that Conte can help bring an end to their wait for glory, just like he did with their rivals and current heavyweights Juventus.

4. Real Madrid – 5 titles

Zinedine Zidane recently guided Real Madrid to their second La Liga title in the span of four years. With 34 titles to their name, Real Madrid are the most successful Spanish side in the history of the league. Apart from holding the record for the most title wins, Los Blancos are also the side with the most consecutive La Liga title triumphs.

They have twice won the coveted championship five times in a row. They did it initially from 1961 to 1965 and then followed it two decades later with five successive league titles from 1986 to 1990. With a youthful core and a tactically astute manager, Madrid are well-placed to embark into another period of similar sustained supremacy in Spanish football.

3. Olympique Lyonnais – 7 titles

Ever since the Qatar Sports Investments completed the takeover of PSG at the turn of the previous decade, they have recorded seven title wins in the last eight years with AS Monaco’s triumph in the 2016-17 campaign being the only outlier.

However, it isn’t the first in the history of the French league that a singular club has enjoyed a lengthy stretch of uninterrupted success. In the early years of this century, Olympique Lyonnais won seven titles on the bounce from 2002 to 2008 in a glorious trophy-laden period for the French club.

2. Bayern Munich – 8 titles

Bayern Munich secured their eighth successive Bundesliga title this year. Bayern’s stranglehold at the top in the German league is pretty well documented and they lived up to their billing yet again by wrapping up the title with six games to spare, which further highlights their domineering stature. It has to be noted that the German champions were way off the boil in the first half of the season and to clinch victory in such comfortable fashion from that position is simply remarkable.

consecutive league titles
FC Bayern has been winning the Bundesliga since 2012-13 season

Back at the start of November, they were fourth on the table, massively unacceptable by Bayern’s astoundingly high standards, and had suffered a 5-1 hammering at the hands of Eintracht Frankfurt, which resulted in the sacking of former manager Niko Kovac. At that time assistant, Hansi Flick was asked to take over on a temporary basis but the manager ended up completely turning their fortunes around and hence was made the permanent manager by the club’s decision-makers.

1.  Juventus – 9 titles

With their latest triumph, Juventus now have won the Serie A title for an astonishing nine seasons in a row. There have been a few valiant challengers over the years but not a single side has been successful in toppling the Italian giants.

They have been unrelenting in their pursuit of trophies and with a certain Cristiano Ronaldo leading the charge this season, the Old Lady have yet again managed to get their hands on the trophy overcoming the threat posed by Inter Milan and Lazio for large parts of the campaign.

consecutive league titles
Juventus have been winning the Serie A since 2011-12 season

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Twitter and join our community on Telegram.