These players established themselves among the most prolific goalscorers in the league.

The Premier League is one of the most difficult and competitive leagues in the world. Many legendary players have graced the league, leaving an impact. There have been many iconic strikers as well, but let’s talk about the most clinical ones. Winning the Golden Boot is a very difficult task, especially in the Premier League.

Let’s take a look at the top 10 players with the most Golden Boot awards in the Premier League.

10. Jamie Vardy – 1

Vardy started playing professionally very late in his career, however that did not stop him. Leicester City and Jamie Vardy made the headlines after winning the Premier League title in the 2015-16 season. Vardy was close to winning the PL Golden Boot in the same season as well. Jamie scored 24 goals, however Harry Kane snatched the Golden Boot by scoring one more goal.

Jamie Vardy finally won the PL Golden boot in the 2019-20 season, scoring 23 goals. The Leicester striker beat Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Danny Ings by one goal on the final day.

9. Son Heung-min – 1

Harry Kane and Son Heung-min is one of the best strike duos out there. Son is quite underrated and finally won something for himself in the Premier League.

Son found himself two goals shy from leading goalscorer Mohamed Salah in the 2021-22 season. However, Son Heung-min and Tottenham went all out against already relegated side Norwich City. As a result, Son scored a goal and evened up with Salah. Both ended the campaign on 23 goals, with Son Heung-min only scoring non-penalty goals. Quite a commendable feat for the Spurs player.

8. Robin van Persie – 2

Robin Van Persie
Robin van Persie has two Premier League Golden Boot awards to his name (Courtesy – Transfermarkt)

Van Persie has played and performed exquisitely in the Premier League with both Arsenal and Manchester United. He first won the Premier League Golden Boot with Arsenal, scoring 30 goals. His haul with Arsenal matched Thierry Henry’s record of 30 goals in the 2003/04 season.

The Dutchman won the award for a second consecutive season. Van Persie scored 26 goals with Manchester United in their title-winning season to win the Golden Boot. He beat Gareth Bale and Luis Suarez in the race that season.

7. Michael Owen – 2

One of the saddest declines in football history, Michael Owen was a phenomenal player. Michael started out with Liverpool and became the youngest player at that time to win the Golden Boot. He scored 18 goals in his first season. This earned him a place in the 1998 England squad.

Owen kept on performing consistently and then went on to win the Ballon D’or in 2001. He along with Cristiano Ronaldo are the only two players to win the Ballon d’Or from the Premier League. Unfortunately, he then proceeded to join Real Madrid after scoring 118 goals in 216 appearances for the Reds. However, Owen did not settle in quickly. He returned to the Premier League after just one season at Real.

6. Didier Drogba – 2

Didier Drogba
Didier Drogba scored 10 goals in 11 finals throughout his career (Courtesy – Chelsea)

Widely known as one of the best big game players in the history of football, Drogba has scored 10 goals in 11 finals throughout his career. Didier first won the PL Golden Boot in 2007. The Ivorian then proceeded to win it again in 2010 in some style.

Drogba was tied with Wayne Rooney on 26 goals on the last day of the season. Rooney failed to score against Stoke City on the last day. However, Drogba scored a sensational second half hat-trick to win the game for Chelsea. That iconic performance won Chelsea the Premier League title as well. The Golden Boot stayed at Stamford Bridge for a second consecutive year.

5. Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink – 2

Hasselbaink was one of the most lethal strikers in the Premier League. He is not quite popular, but boasts many accolades and records. He is also the only player alongside Alan Shearer and Van Persie to win the Golden Boot at two different clubs.

Jimmy began his professional career in England with Leeds United. Hasselbaink made an instant impact in his second year at Leeds. He won the Golden Boot alongside Michael Owen and Dwight Yorke in 1998-99. Jimmy was also the leading assist-provider alongside Dennis Bergkamp in the same season.

The Leeds striker left the club because of a contract dispute and joined Atletico Madrid. Like Owen, Jimmy returned to the Premier League just after one season and joined Chelsea. Hasselbaink won a second Golden Boot at Chelsea as well.

4. Alan Shearer – 3

Shearer is the only player on the list to not play for a big club in his time. Alan started his professional career with Blackburn Rovers and ended as the highest scorer of the Premier League. Shearer was announced as an inductee into the Premier League Hall of Fame as well. He is arguably the best Premier League striker of all-time.

Alan scored a total of 112 goals for Blackburn Rovers and won three consecutive Golden Boots between 1995 and 1997. Shearer scored 34 goals in 1994, winning Blackburn Rovers their one and only PL title. Shearer scored 31 goals in the next season as well. In 1996, Shearer joined Newcastle United, where he scored 25 goals to win his third Premier League Golden Boot.

3. Mohamed Salah – 3

Salah joined Liverpool for £37m which was a club record fee back then. Not much was expected from him because of his previous disastrous spell at Chelsea. However Salah proved everyone wrong after his very first season at Liverpool. Mohamed set the record for most goals scored in a single season (32). Following this, many claimed that Salah is just a ‘one season wonder.’ The Egyptian proved everyone wrong and has scored 15+ goals every season since 2016.

The Liverpool winger has won the Premier League Golden Boot thrice as of now. He won the 2021-22 Golden Boot as well along with Son Heung-min, scoring 23 goals each.

2. Harry Kane – 3

The England striker is one of the best in the league. Kane and Son Heung-min have performed consistently well with Tottenham Hotspur. Harry Kane has won the Premier League Golden Boot in 2015-16, 2016-17 and in 2020-21.

Kane most recently won the award beating Mohamed Salah by just one goal. He scored the opening goal against Leicester in the 2020-21 season to secure the award. Kane ended the season with 23 goals. Salah, on the other hand, failed to score in Liverpool’s win over Crystal Palace.

Harry has quite an underrated trait, which is his passing and playmaking prowess. This proved to be fruitful when Kane won the Playmaker Award in the 2020/21 season. He had 23 goals and 14 assists in the same season, winning both individual awards.

1. Thierry Henry – 4

Thiery Henry Premier League golden boot
Thiery Henry has won four Premier League Golden Boot award (Courtesy – Eurosport)

Henry shone under legendary coach Arsene Wenger at Arsenal. Thierry was one of the best all-round strikers in the history of the Premier League. The Frenchman became Arsenal’s top scorer with 228 goals in all competitions. He is the only player to have won the Golden Boot four times. Henry was a part of the iconic 2003 Arsenal Invincibles.

Thierry first won the Golden Boot in 2001 when he was just 25-years-old. He then won the Golden Boot in the 2003-04, 2005-06, 2006-07 season. Henry had his career best (30 goals) in 2003, when he also won the Golden Boot.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.