The list consists of some blockbuster names that have been at the centre-stage of world football in the past ten years.

Team of the Decade: The 2010’s have brought the footballing world a number of moments that will forever be imprinted on the minds of footballing fans, the world over. The decade has been defined by the emergence of fine young players such as the likes of Kylian Mbappe and Marcus Rashford, who will be tasked with carrying on the footballing mantle into the next decade.

We at Khel Now have compiled a team of the best players from the decade gone by and here’s how it looks-

GK: David De Gea

The Spanish shot-stopper was the subject of much ridicule when he was brought to Old Trafford from Atletico Madrid by Sir Alex Ferguson. Since then, De Gea has won four consecutive Player Of the Year awards at United, a Premier League, the FA Cup, the League Cup and the Europa League. He is still amongst the best players in the world in his position.

RB: Philipp Lahm

The short right-back hung up his boots in 2017, after a magnificent career for both Bayern Munich and the Germany national team. Lahm captained the Bayern side that won the treble of the Bundesliga, the DFB-Pokal and the Champions League in the 2012-2013 season.

The German also led his country to victory at the 2014 World Cup, making him an automatic choice for right back in our squad.

CB: Giorgio Chiellini

Along with Leonardo Bonucci, Giorgio Chiellini formed one of the most impregnable defensive partnerships in world football for both club and country. The centre back won almost everything that was on offer domestically with frightening consistency. Eight Serie A titles, four Italian Cup winners cups and four Italian Supercups line the 35-year old’s trophy cabinet for this decade.

CB: Sergio Ramos

Chiellini is joined in defence by one of the most outspoken and controversial defenders in the last decade, Sergio Ramos. The Spaniard has been an undeniable stand out player this decade, winning almost everything that was put in front of him, including the 2010 World Cup, four La Ligas, four Champions Leagues and the 2012 Euros.

LB: David Alaba

The Austrian left-back has been a mainstay in the Bayern Munich defence ever since he graduated from the German club’s academy. Alaba, now just 27 has eight Bundesliga titles, one Champions League medal, which came in the year that Bayern won the treble and five German cup winners cups to his name.

CDM: Sergio Busquets

A master of the footballing dark arts, Sergio Busquets came out as one of the best defensive midfielders in history, let alone in the last decade, exemplifying the role of the pivot that Johan Cruyff had created for Pep Guardiola back in the day.

Busquets has won the lot both domestically and internationally with eight La Ligas, three Champion’s leagues, a UEFA Euro winners medal and a FIFA World Cup winners medal to his name.

CM: Toni Kroos

The German footballing machine has had one of the most decorated decades of any player on the list. Kroos won three Bundesliga titles, a La Liga title, four Champions Leagues, five club world cups and the 2014 FIFA World Cup, to name a few. Given his title haul and importance to both Bayern Munich and Real Madrid, it was impossible to keep him out of the side.

Team Of The Decade

2010-2019: Team Of The Decade

CM: Luka Modric

Once named as the worst transfer of the season by Marca in 2012, Modric has since gone on to have an incredible career for Real Madrid. The Croatian has one La Liga title, four Champions league titles and a FIFA World Cup runners up medal to his name, amongst several other honours.

Perhaps the most impressive of his individual honours was the 2018 Ballon d’Or for the best player in the world, beating Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to the prize.

CAM: Andreas Iniesta

The Spanish midfielder has inspired a generation of young footballers by providing them with some of the most iconic moments in the last ten years. One’s mind goes back to dying minutes of the World Cup final in 2010 against the Netherlands when Iniesta scored to win Spain the title. The Spaniard has nine La Liga trophies, two Euro trophies, four Champions leagues and a World Cup win to his name.

ST: Lionel Messi

There is nothing much to be said that has not already been said about the Argentine Magician. Messi has been dominant in everything he has touched in the last decade with the only blemish being his lack of an international trophy. The little Argentine has won six Ballon D’Ors, ten LaLiga titles, four Champions Leagues and innumerable other individual honours, making him an automatic entrant into our team.

ST: Cristiano Ronaldo

For a majority of the decade, fans of the Spanish game were treated to two of the best footballers of all time in Ronaldo and Messi, plying their trade week in and week out. Ronaldo has been at the top of all the goalscoring charts you could name over the last decade and still does it to this day at Juventus.

The Portuguese talisman has five Champions League titles, two La Liga titles, three Premier Leagues, a Serie A title, a UEFA Euros Winners medal and a UEFA Nations League winners medal to his name amongst a host of other individual and team honours. Perhaps most impressively, Ronaldo has won five Golden Balls, just one behind his long-time rival Messi.