Quick Reads

Top 10 footballers with most Premier League titles

January 24 2022
Premier League
(Courtesy : Sky Sports/Premier League/Manchester United)

Some of these players are considered household names to the fans of the English top flight.

The Premier League is one of the biggest and most popular football competitions around the world. It has been home to some of the biggest superstars of the game over the years. The Premier League is known for its intense physicality and competitive nature. Despite being one of the toughest competitions in the world, the league has largely been dominated by one team – Manchester United.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s Red Devils were the dominant force in English football for nearly two decades, winning the title a record 13 times. The likes of Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Cristiano Ronaldo and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer have all played for the club, while winning the championship on multiple occasions. Considering all of it, let’s take a look at the footballers with the most Premier League titles.

10. Rio Ferdinand- 6 titles

One of the best defenders in England’s history, Rio Ferdinand was the cornerstone of Manchester United’s success since the turn of the century. Arriving from rivals Leeds United, the centre-back quickly became one of the pillars of the team, captaining them to multiple titles.

Ferdinand won the Premier League titles six times with the Red Devils and made over 300 appearances for the club in the league.

9. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer- 6 titles

Solksjaer has six Premier League titles (Courtesy: FIFA)

Known for his heroics in the 1999 UEFA Champions League final against Bayern Munich, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer won the Premier League titles six times with the Red Devils. The Norwegian forward played for the club between 1996-2007, leading them to multiple honours in the process.

8. Phil Neville – 6 titles

Neville is one of the most decorated players in English football and won the Premier League titles six times during his decade-long stay at Manchester United.

The defender played for the club from 1994 to 2005, making over 250 appearances in the Premier League with them. A versatile player, he was mostly used as a full-back by Ferguson, using his work-rate to the best of his abilities.

7. Nicky Butt – 6 titles

One of the members of Manchester United’s famous 1992 FA Youth Cup winning team, Nicky Butt won the Premier League several times with the club. He played for the Red Devils from 1992 to 2004, making a total of 270 appearances in the Premier League.

Playing as a midfielder, Butt won the competition six times with Manchester United in his 12-year stay with them. The Englishman also played for Newcastle United and Birmingham City towards the end of his career.

6. David Beckham – 6 titles

Premier League
Beckham was one of the most successful players in the Premier League (Courtesy: Eurosport)

One of the most famous players in the world, the former England international played for the likes of Manchester United, Real Madrid, LA Galaxy and PSG, winning major honours with each of them. However, Beckham’s most successful spell came with his boyhood club United. With them, he won the Premier League, domestic cups and UEFA Champions League.

The Englishman played for the Red Devils from 1992 to 2003. He made 250 appearances for them in the league and won the Premier League title on six occasions, including for three consecutive years between 1999-2001.

5. Roy Keane – 7 titles

Keane is considered one of the best Premier League players of all-time. The Irishman won 19 major trophies in his club career, 17 of which came during his time at Manchester United.

The former Ireland international joined the Red Devils in 1993 from Nottingham Forest. He played until 2005, captaining the side for nearly a decade. Keane made over 300 appearances for Manchester United in the league, winning the title seven times.

4. Denis Irwin – 7 titles

Irwin won the Premier League seven times (Courtesy: These Football Times)

The Irish full-back arrived at the club from Oldham Athletic. He was quick to establish himself as one of the most important players in the then newly-formed Premier League.

Irwin played for the club from 1990 to 2002. He helped them to win their maiden Premier League title and first league championship in 26 years. He won the league title seven times.

3. Gary Neville – 8 titles

Gary Neville was part of the famous group of players to make it to the first-team from the academy in 1992. The Englishman is also one of the few players to spend his entire playing career at one club. He represented Manchester United for 11 years, making him a one-club man.

He is also the second-longest serving player at the club and captained the team for five years. One of the most decorated players in English football, Neville won a total of 20 trophies in his club career, including eight Premier League titles.

2. Paul Scholes – 11 titles

Premier League Scholes
Scholes is the second-most successful player in Premier League history (Courtesy: Sky Sports)

The Englishman is not only one of the greatest players in Manchester United and Premier League history, but is also considered as one of the best midfielders of all-time. Scholes made 718 appearances for the Red Devils. This is the third-most in the history of the club, scoring more than 150 goals.

The former England international won the Premier League titles 11 times. In addition, Scholes also won a number of domestic honours and two Champions League titles.

1. Ryan Giggs – 13 titles

The Welshman is the most successful player in the history of the Premier League. He has won the title 13 times. Giggs played his entire professional career at Manchester United.

He is the player with the most appearances for the club and their longest-serving member, having spent 23 years there. He is also the only player in the club’s history to have been a part of the squad in all of their Premier League triumphs till now.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook