As usual some of the biggest names in world football make the shortlist for FIFA’s elite awards.

The FIFA World Cup 2018 is over, and it is fair to say that the World Cup lived up to the expectations and the hype. Although many of the big names flopped, the rare ones ensured that the level of excitement and entertainment doesn’t suffer from it. With the conclusion of the FIFA World Cup, another seasons came to an end.

After the curtains have been brought down to the 2017-18 season, it is the time to reward the bests – The best men footballer, the best manager of men’s football, the best women footballer and the best manager of women’s football – of the previous season. And the FIFA has henceforth announced the name of the nominees of each of the four sections for their newly annually presented awards that goes by the name – The Best FIFA Football Awards. 

Below are the description and the nominees for the four awards:

1) The Best FIFA Men’s Player

The FIFA Best Men’s Player award is for the player who excelled with both club and country in the given timeframe in men’s football. Cristiano Ronaldo is a two-time and current holder of it and is also a front-runner in the race to win it this time.

Cristiano Ronaldo

  • Is the top-scorer of the given timeframe (54).
  • Won Champions League with Real Madrid.
  • Was the third highest goal-scorer in World Cup.

Raphael Varane

  • Won Champions League with Real Madrid.
  • Won FIFA World Cup with France.
  • Won FIFA Club World Cup with Real Madrid.

Luka Modric

  • Helped Croatia reach their first-ever World Cup finals with three Man of the Match performances.
  • Won the Golden Ball at FIFA World Cup.
  • Won Champions League with Real Madrid.

Lionel Messi

  • Was the La Liga top scorer of the season (34 goals).
  • Won La Liga with Barcelona.
  • Won Copa Del Rey with Barcelona.

Mohamed Salah

  • Scored the highest number of goals(32) by any player in Premier League ever
  • Helped Liverpool reach Champions League final
  • Scored 10 goals, finishing as the second-highest scorer in Champions League

Harry Kane

  • Captained England to World Cup semi-finals.
  • Won the Golden Boot at World Cup for scoring the highest number of goals (6).
  • Scored a whopping 30 goals for Tottenham in Premier League.

Antoine Griezmann

  • Won the FIFA World Cup with France.
  • Won the Europa League with Atletico Madrid.
  • Won the Silver Boot and Bronze Ball at the World Cup.

Kylian Mbappe

  • Won three titles with Paris Saint Germain.
  • Won FIFA World Cup with France.
  • Won the FIFA World Cup Best Young Player Award.

Eden Hazard

  • Won FA Cup with Chelsea.
  • Took Belgium to a third-place finish at the FIFA World Cup.
  • Won the Silver Ball at World Cup.

Kevin De Bruyne

  • Engineered Manchester City to the best Premier League win ever.
  • Helped Belgium win the bronze at the FIFA World Cup.
  • Most assists during Premier League season (18).

2) The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach is given to the best manager in men’s football for the given season. Zinedine Zidane is the current holder of it – who won it for successfully winning a historic double of La Liga and Champions League with Real Madrid last season.

Zinedine Zidane

  • Won third successive Champions League title in a row.
  • Became the first coach to win it three times in three seasons.
  • Left Real Madrid with a 70% win ratio.

Ernesto Valverde

  • Won Copa Del Rey with Barcelona.
  • Won La Liga with Barcelona.
  • Lost just once in the La Liga.

Gareth Southgate

  • Made England reach it’s best World Cup position on foreign soil.
  • Was undefeated with England in the World Cup qualifiers.
  • Made England play free-flowing football in the entire tournament.

Diego Simeone

  • Won his second Europa League title as a coach.
  • Made his side the second best of La Liga-ahead of Real Madrid.
  • Had the best defensive record in Spain’s domestic league (conceded just 22 goals).

Roberto Martinez

  • Helped Belgium finish as the third best team in FIFA World Cup.
  • Made his side the best attacking side of the tournament.
  • Beat England twice in the World Cup.


FIFA World Cup 2018 TOTT: Kylian Mbappe and Luka Modric lead the way

Explained: The implications of Cristiano Ronaldo’s sensational move to Juventus

Transfer Talk: Real Madrid interested in Edinson Cavani

Jurgen Klopp

  • Took Liverpool to the finals of Champions League.
  • Earned Liverpool a top-four finish in Premier League.
  • Made Liverpool’s front-three the best-attacking frontline of England.

Pep Guardiola

  • Won the Premier League with Manchester City.
  • Has the most number of wins in a Premier League season.
  • Made City the first side ever to win 100 points in Premier League.

Massimiliano Allegri

  • Took his side, Juventus, to their seventh straight Serie A title.
  • Won his side’s fourth straight domestic double.
  • Took Juventus to last eight of the Champions League.

Stanislav Cherchesov

  • Took his side to their best-ever finish in FIFA World Cup.
  • Defeated the heavyweights Spain in Round of 16.
  • Won 5-0 against Saudi Arabia.

Zlatko Dalic

  • Guided Croatia to their first-ever FIFA World Cup final.
  • Defeated heavyweights Argentina 3-0 in a group-stage game.
  • Defeated England in the semifinals.

Didier Deschamps