Video: Top 10 best goals to win prestigious Puskas Award

Sattyik SarkarSattyik Sarkar

December 2 2021
Puskas Award
(Courtesy : Footy Renders)

FIFA hands the award to the player who has scored the most spectacular goal of the year.

The Puskas Award, named after Hungary and Real Madrid legend Ferenc Puskas is awarded to the player who has seemingly scored the best goal in that calendar year. The goals are usually judged on the basis of their handsomeness.

Since it’s inception in 2009, there have been eleven recipients to this award. The names cover a range of countries and some world-class players. In a few cases, the names aren’t those which we are used to hearing, but their goals are certainly spectacular.

Here are the top 10 best goals to win the Puskas Award to-date:

10. James Rodriguez (2014)

WATCH: Rodriguez’s scorcher vs Uruguay in World Cup 2014

9. Miroslav Stoch (2012)

WATCH: Stoch’s Puskas Award winning goal

8. Cristiano Ronaldo (2009)

WATCH: Ronaldo’s 4o-yard-screamer vs FC Porto

7. Wendell Lira (2015)

WATCH: Wendell Lira’s audacious bicycle kick goal

6. Oliver Giroud (2017)

WATCH: Giroud’s Puskas Award winning goal vs Crystal Palace in 2017

5. Daniel Zsori (2019)

WATCH: Daniel Zsori’s outstanding debut goal for Debrecen

4. Hamit Altintop (2010)

WATCH: Altintop scores a 25-yard-screamer against Kazakhstan

3. Son Heung-min (2020)

WATCH: Son Heung-Min’s sensational solo goal vs Burnley

2. Mohd Faiz Subri (2016)

WATCH: Subri’s sensational banana kick strike

1. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (2013)

WATCH: Zlatan’s 30-yard overhead goal vs England in 2014

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.