Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

Copa America

Copa America 2024: List of all captains for 16 nations

Published at :June 16, 2024 at 12:17 AM
Modified at :June 16, 2024 at 12:17 AM
Post Featured Image

Ajay Gandhar

Argentina once again will be captained by Lionel Messi.

The Copa América 2024, the quadrennial men’s soccer tournament for national teams from South America, will be held in the United States from June 20 to July 14. This will be the second time the U.S. has hosted the event, after the special 2016 Copa América Centenario edition.

The 2024 tournament was originally set to be hosted by Ecuador, following CONMEBOL’s rotation system. However, in November 2022, Ecuador surprisingly declined to host, citing economic reasons. Both Peru and the United States then expressed interest in taking over as hosts.

Ultimately, CONMEBOL awarded the hosting duties to the United States in a partnership with CONCACAF.

The format will feature all 10 CONMEBOL national teams along with six guest teams from CONCACAF, which includes the United States and Mexico. In total, 16 teams will compete in the group stage, with the top finishers advancing to the knockout rounds.

The final match will take place on July 14 at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. The winner will go on to face the champions of UEFA Euro 2024 in the 2025 CONMEBOL–UEFA Cup of Champions.

Argentina enters as the defending Copa América champions after winning the 2021 edition in Brazil. The team is led by superstar Lionel Messi, who will captain them again. Even some top players like Claudio Bravo and James Rodriguez are captaining their respective nations.

Also read: Argentina at Copa America 2024: Full squad, preview, match schedule, venue, telecast info

Let’s look at the captain of all participating nations:

Group A

Argentina – Lionel Messi

Peru – Paolo Guerrero

Chile – Claudio Bravo

Canada – Alphonse Davies

Group B

Mexico – Andrés Guardado

Ecuador – Enner Valencia

Venezuela – Tomás Rincón

Jamaica – Andre Blake

Group C

United States – Christian Pulisic

Uruguay – Federico Valverde

Panama – Aníbal Godoy

Bolivia – Luis Haquin

Group D

Brazil – Marquinhos

Colombia – James Rodriguez

Paraguay – Gustavo Gómez

Costa Rica – Keylor Navas

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.