Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Premier League

List of all players to win PFA Player's Player of the Year award

Published at :May 11, 2024 at 12:17 PM
Modified at :May 11, 2024 at 12:17 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

This award was first awarded in 1973-74

An annual award awarded to the player deemed the finest of the English football season is the PFA Men’s Players’ Player of the Year (sometimes known as the Players’ Player of the Year or just the Player of the Year).

The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA), the players’ trade union, holds an annual poll to select the winner of the award. The award has been given out since the 1973–74 season. Erling Haaland of Manchester City is the current winner; he took home the trophy for the first occasion on August 29, 2023.

Norman Hunter, a defensive specialist for Leeds United, was the inaugural recipient of the honour. Only Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale, Kevin De Bruyne, Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, and Mohamed Salah had taken home the prize twice as of 2023; additionally, only Henry, Ronaldo, and De Bruyne had won it in back-to-back seasons.

Only Shearer, who played for two separate teams, won both of his awards out of the seven. Young players are still eligible to compete for the senior title since there is a distinct Premier League PFA Young Player of the Year accolade. Three times, the same player has won both trophies for a period: Andy Grey in 1976–1977, Ronaldo in 2006–07, and Bale in 2012–13.

List of players to win Premier League PFA Players’ Player of the Year award

1973–74Norman HunterLeeds United
1974–75Colin ToddDerby County
1975–76Pat JenningsTottenham Hotspur
1976–77Andy GrayAston Villa
1977–78Peter ShiltonNottingham Forest
1978–79Liam BradyArsenal
1979–80Terry McDermottLiverpool
1980–81John WarkIpswich Town
1981–82Kevin KeeganSouthampton
1982–83Kenny DalglishLiverpool
1983–84Ian RushLiverpool
1984–85Peter ReidEverton
1985–86Gary LinekerEverton
1986–87Clive AllenTottenham Hotspur
1987–88John BarnesLiverpool
1988–89Mark HughesManchester United
1989–90David PlattAston Villa
1990–91Mark Hughes (2)Manchester United
1991–92Gary PallisterManchester United
1992–93Paul McGrathAston Villa
1993–94Eric CantonaManchester United
1994–95Alan ShearerBlackburn Rovers
1995–96Les FerdinandNewcastle United
1996–97Alan Shearer (2)Newcastle United
1997–98Dennis BergkampArsenal
1998–99David GinolaTottenham Hotspur
1999–2000Roy KeaneManchester United
2000–01Teddy SheringhamManchester United
2001–02Ruud van NistelrooyManchester United
2002–03Thierry HenryArsenal
2003–04Thierry Henry (2)Arsenal
2004–05John TerryChelsea
2005–06Steven GerrardLiverpool
2006–07Cristiano RonaldoManchester United
2007–08Cristiano Ronaldo (2)Manchester United
2008–09Ryan GiggsManchester United
2009–10Wayne RooneyManchester United
2010–11Gareth BaleTottenham Hotspur
2011–12Robin van PersieArsenal
2012–13Gareth Bale (2)Tottenham Hotspur
2013–14Luis SuárezLiverpool
2014–15Eden HazardChelsea
2015–16Riyad MahrezLeicester City
2016–17N’Golo KantéChelsea
2017–18Mohamed SalahLiverpool
2018–19Virgil van DijkLiverpool
2019–20Kevin De BruyneManchester City
2020–21Kevin De Bruyne (2)Manchester City
2021–22Mohamed Salah (2)Liverpool
2022–23Erling HaalandManchester City

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.