Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Premier League

List of all players to win Premier League Player of the Season award

Published at :May 18, 2024 at 4:04 PM
Modified at :May 18, 2024 at 4:04 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Premier League)

Aditya Chauhan

Some of the elites to feature in the English top-flight history

The English Premier League has witnessed some of the finest players in football history. Top players from across the world are attracted to big clubs of England and they look to perform at their best for their club.

Annually, there is an award presented to the best player of the season. The FA presents the Premier League Player of the Season to a player who has performed extraordinary for their club.

To choose the winner, there is a committee consisting of members of “football’s governing bodies, the media and fans”, and is announced in the second or third week of May.

To date, four players have won the award twice in their career. Thierry Henry was the first player to start the trend. Cristiano Ronaldo soon joined the party and was followed by his Manchester United companion, Nemanja Vidic. Kevin De Bruyne is the latest player to join the elite list.

Six Manchester United players have won this award eight times. This is the highest number of awards for a single club. Their rivals Manchester City are just behind them and could take over in the upcoming seasons.

Let’s take a look at all players who have received the award since the 1994-95 season.

Premier League Player of the Season Award winners

1994–95Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers
1995–96Peter Schmeichel Manchester United
1997–98Michael OwenLiverpool
1998–99Dwight YorkeManchester United
1999–2000Kevin PhillipsSunderland
2000–01Patrick VieiraArsenal
2001–02Freddie LjungbergArsenal
2002–03Ruud van NistelrooyManchester United
2003–04Thierry HenryArsenal
2004–05Frank LampardChelsea
2005–06Thierry HenryArsenal
2006–07Cristiano RonaldoManchester United
2007–08Cristiano RonaldoManchester United
2008–09Nemanja VidicManchester United
2009–10Wayne RooneyManchester United
2010–11Nemanja VidicManchester United
2011–12Vincent KompanyManchester City
2012–13Gareth BaleTottenham Hotspur
2013-14Luis SuarezLiverpool
2014–15Eden HazardChelsea
2015–16Jamie VardyLeicester City
2016–17N’Golo KanteChelsea
2017–18Mohamed SalahLiverpool
2018–19Virgil van DijkLiverpool
2019–20Kevin De BruyneManchester City
2020–21Ruben DiasManchester City
2021–22Kevin De BruyneManchester City
2022–23Erling HaalandManchester City
2023-24 Phil Foden Manchester City

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.