Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Copa America

Uruguay announce final squad for Copa America 2024; Luis Suárez, Darwin Núñez included

Published at :June 10, 2024 at 8:29 PM
Modified at :June 10, 2024 at 8:30 PM
Post Featured Image

Ajay Gandhar

Uruguay have won 15 continental championships.

Uruguay manager Marcelo Bielsa has named his 26-man squad for the upcoming Copa America 2024 tournament in the United States. The roster features a mix of veteran stars and emerging talents.

Headlining the squad are 37-year-old striker Luis Suarez of Inter Miami and Liverpool’s Darwin Nunez. Suarez, Uruguay’s all-time leading scorer with 68 goals, will be looking to add to his tally despite recent knee issues. Nunez, 24, has emerged as one of the world’s top young strikers after a prolific season at Liverpool.

The midfield is anchored by Real Madrid’s Federico Valverde, PSG’s Manuel Ugarte, and Tottenham’s Rodrigo Bentancur. In defense, Ronald Araujo of Barcelona and Atletico Madrid’s Jose Gimenez provide steel and experience.

Notable omissions include recently retired veterans Edinson Cavani and Matias Vecino. Liverpool’s Luciano Rodriguez, Orlando City’s Facundo Torres, Wolves’ Santiago Bueno, and Cadiz’s Maxi Gomez also missed out.

Uruguay has been drawn into Group A alongside Panama, United States and Bolivia for the 2024 Copa America. They will be looking to add to their record 15 Copa titles, with their last triumph coming in 2011.

Uruguay’s final 26-man squad for Copa America 2024:

Goalkeepers: Sergio Rochet (International), Santiago Melé (Junior), Franco Israel (Sporting Lisbon).

Defenders: Ronald Araujo (Barcelona), José María Giménez (Atlético Madrid), Sebastián Cáceres (América), Nicolás Marichal (Dynamo), Mathías Olivera (Napoli), Lucas Olaza (Krasnodar), Matías Viña (Flamengo), Guillermo Varela (Flamengo), Nahitán Nández (Cagliari).

Midfielders: Manuel Ugarte (Paris Saint-Germain), Rodrigo Bentancur (Tottenham), Federico Valverde (Real Madrid), Emiliano Martínez (Midtjylland), Nicolás de la Cruz (Flamengo), Giorgian de Arrascaeta (Flamengo), Agustín Canobbio (Paranaense).

Forwards: Brian Rodríguez (América), Brian Ocampo (Cádiz), Facundo Pellistri (Granada), Maximiliano Araujo (Toluca), Cristián Olivera (Dallas), Darwin Núñez (Liverpool), Luis Suárez (Inter Miami).

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram