Formula 1

Formula 1: Top five drivers with most wins at Singapore GP

Hisan KidwaiHisan Kidwai

September 14 2023
Formula 1: Top five drivers with most wins at the Singapore GP

The F1 Singapore GP is one of the most challenging races of the year, thanks in part to the track’s tricky corners and extreme weather conditions. As a result, despite being part of the F1 circus since 2008, only a select few drivers have ever claimed victory. Now, let’s take a look at the top five drivers with the most wins at the Singapore GP.

5. Sergio Perez (1 win)

After returning to the calendar following a 2-year break due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2022 Singapore GP proved to be a curveball for all drivers. This is because, despite starting from the pole position, Charles Leclerc was quickly overtaken by Red Bull’s Sergio Perez, who maintained his lead even after a rolling restart on lap 11. In the end, the Mexican driver finished 7.5 seconds ahead (2.5 seconds after a 5-second penalty) of Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, who secured the second position.

4. Nico Rosberg (1 win)

The 2016 season was undoubtedly one of the most fearsome title battles in F1 history, with both Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg using every trick in the books to take the lead. However, the 2016 Singapore Grand Prix marked a pivotal moment in the championship race. This is because despite facing a late surge from Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo, Rosberg’s victory propelled him 8 points ahead of his teammate.

3. Fernando Alonso (2 wins)

Fernando Alonso’s victory with Renault at the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix remains one of the most controversial wins in F1 history. This is because, starting from a seemingly disadvantaged P15 position, Alonso pitted on lap 12 to refuel and emerged at the back of the field.

However, a critical turning point occurred on lap 14 when his teammate, Piquet Jr., crashed into the wall, triggering the safety car. This preciseness of the crash gave Alonso a massive advantage and ultimately allowed him to claim victory. Furthermore, Alonso won the race once again with Ferrari in 2010.

2. Lewis Hamilton (4 wins)

Lewis Hamilton’s dominance during the turbo hybrid era has been nothing short of extraordinary, with his four wins at the Marina Bay circuit serving as a testament to his prowess. However, his first victory came in 2009, when driving for McLaren, the British driver started from pole position and led most of the race.

Hamilton’s other victories came during the turbo hybrid era while driving for Mercedes in 2014, 2017, and 2018.

1. Sebastian Vettel (5 wins)

Often regarded as the King of Singapore, Sebastian Vettel claimed his first set of victories at the Marina Bay circuit during the height of Red Bull’s dominance in 2011, 2012, and 2013. Although Mercedes’ dominance in 2014 briefly interrupted his streak, Vettel’s 2015 season with Ferrari put him right back in contention for victory, as he went on to win the race in both 2015 and 2019.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.