Formula 1

Formula 1: Top five Drivers with most wins at Mexican GP

Arpit AnandArpit Anand
October 28 2023
Formula 1: Top five Drivers with most wins at Mexican GP

The Mexican GP, a staple in the Formula 1 calendar, has witnessed some of the most exhilarating racing moments in the sport’s history. Over the years, several legendary drivers have left their mark on the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Mexico City. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the top five drivers who have celebrated victory at the Mexican GP and carved their names into the annals of F1 history.

5. Lewis Hamilton: 2 Wins

No list of Formula 1 greats is complete without the mention of Lewis Hamilton. The seven-time world champion displayed his exceptional skills at the Mexican Grand Prix, securing victories in 2016 and 2019.

Despite the outstanding performance displayed throughout the current season, Lewis Hamilton’s second-place finish at the United States Grand Prix 2023 is in question, as he faced disqualification due to his Mercedes failing the physical floor and plank wear inspection after Sunday’s race, leading to concerns about excessive wear and thinning.

4. Nigel Mansell: 2 Wins

Nigel Mansell, the British racing legend, left an indelible mark on the Mexican Grand Prix with his remarkable victories in 1987 and 1992. His thrilling performances and unmatched determination earned him a place among the elite drivers to have conquered this circuit.

3. Alain Prost: 2 Wins

The “Professor,” Alain Prost, was a formidable presence in Formula 1 during the late ’80s and early ’90s. He tasted success at the Mexican Grand Prix on two occasions, in 1988 and 1990. The 1990 Mexican GP showcased Prost’s exceptional driving skills, as he triumphed despite starting from the 13th position on the grid. Prost’s tactical brilliance and driving skills were on full display as he conquered the challenging Mexico City circuit.

2. Jim Clark: 2 Wins

Jim Clark, the legendary Scottish driver, showcased his mastery at the Mexican Grand Prix in the early ’60s. He was a dominant force on this circuit, with wins in 1963 and 1967. Clark’s performance in the 1967 Mexican Grand Prix solidified his reputation as one of the sport’s greatest drivers, becoming the first driver to achieve ten hat-tricks (pole, win & fastest lap). He also shared his victory with Juan Manuel Fangio in the 1967 race.

1. Max Verstappen: 5 Wins

Max Verstappen is currently the most dominant Formula 1 driver on the grid and the 2023 Formula 1 World Champion. The Dutchman has managed to use his confidence and prowess behind the wheel alongside the pace and power from Red Bull. The 26-year-old dutchman has secured his 50th F1 race win in the United States Grand Prix, coming close to surpassing Alain Prost’s 51 victories and Sebastian Vettel’s 53 wins.

Verstappen’s dominant force in Formula 1 and his performances at the Mexican Grand Prix underscore his prowess. The Dutch sensation has claimed victory on four occasions, cementing his status as one of the most successful drivers at this circuit. His triumphant runs came in 2017, 2018, 2021, and 2022, 2023 making him the undisputed modern monarch of the Mexican Grand Prix.

In conclusion, these drivers’ triumphs at the Mexican Grand Prix showcase their exceptional talents and contributions to the world of Formula 1. Their legacy continues to inspire racing enthusiasts and shape the sport’s history.

**This article was last updated on 31 October 2023.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.