Women’s Hockey Asia Cup 2022: India vs South Korea Live Updates

Gaurav SinghGaurav Singh
January 26 2022
FIH Women's Pro League Hockey Asia Cup
(Courtesy : hockeyindia)

In their fourth match of the Women’s Hockey Asia Cup 2022, defending champions India take on South Korea. India qualified for the upcoming World Cup after defeating Singapore in their previous match.

Indian Women’s Team Squad:

Here is the team members of the Indian squad who will participate in the Women’s Hockey Asia Cup 2022 and hence will be aiming to win the title:

Goalkeepers: Savita (C), Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka (VC), Gurjit Kaur, Nikki Pradhan, Udita

Midfielders: Nisha, Sushila Chanu, Monika, Neha, Salima Tete, Jyoti, Navjot Kaur

Forwards: Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Vandana Katariya, Mariana Kujur, Sharmila Devi

05:30 PM Hello and welcome to the live updates from the India vs South Korea match at the Women’s Hockey Asia Cup 2022.

An 18-member Indian team will go for glory at the upcoming Women’s Hockey Asia Cup, which will take place at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex in Muscat, Oman between January 21-28, 2022. The incumbent champion, India, will face off against China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand for the championship.

The Indian team boasts of a formidable lineup that includes 16 players, who were part of India’s historic fourth-place finish at the Tokyo Olympic Games 2020. Since Rani Rampal is undergoing rehabilitation in Bengaluru, the team will be led by ace goalkeeper Savita Punia, with experienced defender Deep Grace Ekka serving as the Vice-Captain. Goalkeeper Rajani Etimarpu and defenders Gurjit Kaur, Nikki Pradhan, and Udita were also named in the squad.

The midfield includes Nisha, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Monika, Neha, Salima Tete, Jyoti, and Navjot Kaur. Meanwhile, the forward line will see Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Vandana Katariya, Mariana Kujur, and Sharmila Devi. Deepika (Junior) and Ishika Chaudhary are the team’s two Replacement Athletes for the event.

The Women’s Hockey Asia Cup will take place in a two-pool format with classification matches that cross over. India find its place in Pool A, alongside Japan, Malaysia, and Singapore.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.