Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Pro Kabaddi League

PKL: Updated total raid points of all Pro Kabaddi League teams

Published at :March 16, 2023 at 10:54 PM
Modified at :April 10, 2023 at 10:01 PM
Post Featured Image

m sudharshan

Unsurprisingly, Patna Pirates the most successful team in the competition lead the list.

The Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) has become one of the most popular sports leagues in India (only behind IPL). Across the nine editions, there have been some consistent teams who constantly find themselves among the top positions in the league. These clubs have scored the highest number of raid points across all the seasons which has been instrumental in their success.

Unlike the defenders, raiders have the ability to score multiple raid points (more than two) in a single attempt and on many occasions, have won matches single-handedly. In this article, let us discuss which teams scored the most raid points after the end of PKL 9.

12. Tamil Thalaivas (2110)

Tamil Thalaivas made their PKL entry in season 5 (along with three other clubs). The club has not had success finishing in the bottom for four successive seasons. They qualified for the playoffs for the first time in PKL season 9 and finished as semifinalists.

Ajay Thakur is the most successful raider and has led the side for three seasons. Narender Kandola broke Ajay Thakur’s record for scoring the most raid points in a single season for Tamil Thalaivas and looks set to replace the legendary player.

11. Haryana Steelers (2239)

The northern kabaddi heavyweights joined PKL in season 5 and have had relative success in their short sun. Vikas Kandola led the raiding department for the past few seasons and has scored close to 600 raid points for Haryana Steelers. At times he has suffered from injuries but coach Rakesh Kumar persisted with the youngster. After season 8, Vikas shifted flanks and became the second costliest buy in the history of PKL joining Bengaluru Bulls.

10. Gujarat Giants (2249)

Gujarat Giants under Manpreet Singh was a team which relied heavily on the defence. The formula worked in their favour in the first two seasons, reaching the final but couldn’t cross the last barrier. Sachin Tanwar, Mahendra Ganesh Rajput, and Chandran Ranjith have played huge roles in the raiding department. Manpreet Singh doesn’t rely heavily on his raiders but has the tendency to unearth new talents (Sachin), which has benefitted the team. 

9. UP Yoddhas (2337)

UP Yoddhas is one of the most consistent sides in the PKL, having reached the playoffs in all the seasons they have participated in (joined PKL in season 5). Like Gujarat Giants, UP Yoddhas in the initial few seasons has had a good defensive setup.

Pardeep Narwal and Surender Gill have led the raiding department (since season 8) and have been instrumental in the team's success. Surender Gill single-handedly led the team (raiding department) in season 8.

8. Puneri Paltan (3123)

Puneri Paltan has a history of ups and downs in the PKL. They have reached the playoffs on multiple occasions but failed to lift the trophy. The team hasn't relied heavily on a single player (from season one) and has kept changing the team combination.

Ajay Thakur and Manjeet Chillar were instrumental in leading the side in the initial few seasons and the team now is being carry forwarded by the youngsters (Aslam Inamdar, Akash Shinde, Mohit Goyat, and Pankaj Mohite).

7. Jaipur Pink Panthers (3162)

Jaipur Pink Panthers started the PKL career on a positive note winning the inaugural season and recently were crowned the champions in season 9. Maninder Singh led the raiding department in the first season but couldn't continue due to injuries.

Jasvir Singh along with other secondary raiders led the team for the next few seasons. 23-year-old Arjun Deshwal single-handedly led the raiding department in season 9 and scored close to 300 raid points. 

6. U Mumba (3186)

U Mumba started their PKL career on a bright note (runner-up in season one and title winners in season 2). Anup Kumar led the team in the first five seasons and has guided many youngsters during his stay.

Captain cool scored the most raid points in season one and to date remains the top scorer for U Mumba. U Mumba failed to hold on to Siddharth Desai and Arjun Deshwal, who started their PKL career with them.

5. Telugu Titans (3196)

Rahul Chaudhari the “showman” is one of the most decorated raiders in PKL history. He led Telugu Titans in the first five seasons and has been their best raider scoring close to 700 raid points during his stay. The club brought in Siddharth Desai after a few seasons (since Rahul's departure) but the raider couldn't perform at his best due to injuries. 

4. Bengal Warriors (3289)

Bengal Warriors did not find much success in the initial few seasons finishing outside the playoffs spot on most occasions. The decision to bring in Maninder Singh worked in their favour and the raider single-handedly won them the trophy in season 7.

Maninder did not participate in the PKL due to injuries (seasons 2 to 6) but made a strong comeback showing his dominance. The raider has scored close to 600 raid points for the franchise.

3. Dabang Delhi KC (3367)

Kashiling Adake was the most successful raider in the initial few seasons but Naveen Kumar announced his presence in season 6. Naveen Kumar went on to become the most successful raider and is fondly called Naveen “Express”.

The youngster has scored more than 200 raid points in the previous three seasons and guided the team to the title run in season 8. Dabang Delhi KC has qualified for the playoffs consistently since the arrival of Naveen Kumar.

2. Bengaluru Bulls (3510)

Bengaluru Bulls occupy the second spot in the all-time raid points list. Ajay Thakur, Manjeet Chillar, Pawan Sehrawat, Rohit Kumar, and Bharat have played a major role in teams' success over the years. Pawan Sehrwawat became the first raider (from Bengaluru Bulls) to cross the 300 raid points mark in a single season. After his successful stint, Bharat has taken over the rings and is set to become the next sensation from PKL.

1. Patna Pirates (3599)

Patna Pirates are the most successful franchise in PKL’s history and have won the title thrice (seasons 3,4, and 5). Pardeep Narwal has been the backbone of the raiding department and his arrival in season 3 made the difference. He is the first raider to score 1500 raid points in PKL history. Sachin Tanwar has taken over the primary raiders' role after his departure and has performed his duties well (reaching the final in season 8).